Humans logo

How My Mother Reacted When I Introduced Her to My 40 Yr Old Best Friend - Wizkid

Wizkid talks music, personal stories, and more.

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Wizkid is the latest cover boy for 10 Magazine. The singer who just recently released his highly anticipated album More Love, Less Ego took out time to chat with the magazine about afrobeats music, how he feels about the claims that he put Justin Bieber on the "Essence" Remix to boost the song, and the funny true story of when he introduced his mother to his 40 year old best friend when he was only 11.

Wizkid had a lot to chat about. Without further ado, let's get into what Wizkid revealed in his new interview.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Wizkid for 10 Magazine

Speaking about Afrobeats and why he no longer listens to rap music, Wizkid said:

Afrobeats is the new pop. I sold two million copies in America off of one song! Even some American artists don’t have a diamond record. If I’m being honest, I don’t listen to any other genre of music anymore. I don’t listen to rap – that shit is boring to me. It’s dead now, it’s tired. These guys do the same shit, rap on the same beats, same flows. [People have had to] listen to the same type of music 10 years, five years straight. No disrespect to nobody. I don’t have anything against rap or any other type of music. I have a lot of rappers as friends, like a lot. So I’m probably the wrong person to say this.

Speaking about featuring American singer Justin Bieber on the "Essence" Remix, Wizkid said:

That’s the problem – I wasn’t trying to help anything! The song was already big. When I heard [his verse], I actually liked it. It was why I put it out. That’s the thing people don’t know about me; when it’s strategic, I don’t do it. I get sent records every day from artists that I’m a fan of, [but] sometimes it doesn’t feel right. Even if you’re Michael Jackson, I don’t care – I’m not going to do it. We need to be able to see each other and be like ‘Yo, we made a crazy record!’ Not like we don’t want to talk.

Wizkid then also talked about growing up as the one son in a family of 12 children, and how his mother reacted when she met his 40 year old best friend. He said:

I was mad but I was quiet at home. You know, growing up as a man, I can’t really talk to my sisters about certain things and have certain conversations.

When I was 11 my best friend was, like, 40 [laughs]. He used to own a business down my street, and every time I’d come back from school I’d go sit with him, help him sell some stuff, chill. I’d always tell my mom about him so she told me to bring him to the house. When I brought him she saw one old man and was like, ‘What’s going on here!?’ [laughs]. Just hanging around grown people, seeing how life works, really helped me grow [up] faster.

Wizkid and mother

What do you think about what Wizkid said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.