Humans logo

Tobi Makinde Clears Up Rumors About His Relationship With Funke Akindele

Tobi Makinde talks Funke Akindele

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

Nigerian actor Tobi Makinde was earlier this year in the spotlight for all the wrong reasons. When the son of Funke Akindele's ex-husband, Benito, came on social media to accuse Funke of cheating on his father with her PA, many people immediately guessed he was talking about Tobi Makinde. Once the video was out, it quickly led to speculation.

Now, during an interview with The Punch, Tobi Makinde was asked to describe his relationship with Funke Akindele once and for all. Here's what he said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Funke Akindele and Tobi Makinde

During his interview, Tobi Makinde was asked: "How will you describe your relationship with Funke Akindele?" He said:

It goes beyond work. She is like a mother to me because the training she gave me is what I am supposed to pay to learn in a film school. However, she gave it to me on a platter. It is by resilience and not by sleeping or chilling. She is God-sent to me and other people. She is an amazing person.

Jenifa’s Diary’ was a blessing to my life. I have been looking for the opportunity for a long time. Before I got the role, I almost quit acting because I wasn’t getting roles. During my Master’s, an audition notice came from Scene One Production for a new project they were about to do titled, ‘Industreet’. Sincerely, I did not want to go because I had gone for several auditions where I was not later selected, and I knew how the crowd would be. However, one of my friends encouraged me to go. I got the role on ‘Industreet’ after so many hurdles.

After that, Funke Akindele asked me what I do asides acting. I told her I didn’t have a job because I was doing my Master’s at that time. That was it! I just became a production manager overnight with her company. Akindele is someone who believes one can always do something and learn if one is willing. I was initially a crew member of ‘Jenifa’s Diary’ before an opening for Timini’s role came up. She told me that I am a very good actor and that she had penned a role for me to become Jenifa’s personal assistant (Timini). That was how that character came to life. That became my turning point. This project has been very impactful on my career and it re-announced me to my world. I have gone from being an actor to a director in the series. I am very grateful to Akindele for the platform.

Speaking on the rumors that Funke Akindele is very strict and hard on employees, Tobi Makinde said:

Everyone is entitled to their opinion. Akindele is the easiest person to work with. She has run Scene One Production for about 14 years now, while she has been acting for over two decades. This is because she is strong and faces her job, especially knowing that the industry is male dominated. She has to be dogged and strict to excel. That is what has kept her business moving. All the content she has done has been successful so far.

What do you think about what Tobi Makinde said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.