Humans logo

How Motherhood Changed For Me After My Daughter Turned 2 - Simi

Simi talks motherhood

By Jide OkonjoPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian singer Simi is opening up about how she honestly lost sight of herself for 2 years after giving birth to her daughter. Simi shares her experience about the difficult job of being a mother and explains how after three years, she's now able to manage it

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Simi during interview

During an interview with Cool FM, Simi was asked "How's your little baby? You got a little carbon copy of yourself that is one of the most interesting people already. What's that like?" to which she responded:

SIMI: Oh my god, she is [one of the most interesting people already]. It is a lot of things at the same time and I feel like the more time I spend as a mom, my feelings about it evolve. And I remember - she's 3 now, she just turned 3 last month - and I remember that I just started to find myself again last year. Just right after she turned 2. It's almost like - I don't know, I guess everybody experiences it differently, but for me, it's like in your world, few things are dimmer to you but certain things are clearer to you. It's like your brain just hones in to this whole mothering thing, that's how it was for me. 2 years later after I had my child, I feel like I started to see myself a little more. When I say see myself, I mean notice myself, like oh you're still there. I don't know how to explain it, it's like the tunnel vision became a little bit wider, and I was just able to see and experience myself a little bit more. And so it can make you really vulnerable, but it's such a beautiful thing. I feel like that's the most incredible thing I have ever done and everyday, I am grateful to have that opportunity. But it's not easy. One thing I always say is before you do it, people say you can have it all, you can do it all, you can but you cannot do it all at the same time. Certain things have to give, and that's just the way, that's just the nature of things. You have to compromise on some things depending on how important it is to you.

Wow! The job of a mother is not easy! What do you think about what Simi had to say? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

If you want to follow me on alternative social media, I am now on Twitter and in the process of growing my account on there. So please, feel free to follow me on Twitter as well @JideOkonjo.

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.