Humans logo

Homelander Has Lost His Mind

Unfortunately, it looks familiar

By Mae McCreeryPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
not my pic

Okay, so Season 3 of The Boys has been moderately okay and I think I know why it's felt subpar: Homelander.

Homelander has been living this season off the high that white males in the Rust Belt of America loved his rant of so-called patriotism. He calls out Vought because he feels repressed and neglected, much like a toddler throwing a tantrum for getting in trouble.

And the publicity and entitlement that people just hand to him out of fear or awe, just reminds me of ...recent political turmoil in the United States.

For the first time, I don't really have to imagine what it would be like to live under a boot of oppression because I've lived it. I remember going to work the day after the election that changed my country for the worse, and everyone assumed that because I was a woman that I voted for a woman and that I was now entitled to a form of punishment by every middle aged white republican in a ten mile radius.

And now I'm watching the people in The Boys struggling to not offend an psychotic serial super killer because either he would punish or bully you or his followers would.

I don't have to imagine that fear, I lived it. I lived with it for 4 years, 2 months, and 15 days and to be honest, things aren't much better now but at least we don't have a leader who tells us to hate people just because they don't look like us.

Seeing Homelander encourage people to follow him and his words and the Supes he promotes and defends versus actually helping people like he's supposed to do, I know it's a fictional show based on a fictional comic book. I know that Eric Kripke the showrunner did these parallels on purpose to show us how ridiculous it looks, but I would be lying if I didn't say it was somewhat triggering.

I still love this show and wait for it to air every week, I'm a fan and I'm not crying that I'm triggered and I want him cancelled because contrary to popular belief, Millennials can not appreciate a certain fictional situation and still like a fictional show, comic, or movie as a whole. I just want to put it out there that maybe these parallels of fictional and real life are why people aren't exactly loving this season. I also don't appreciate the lack of Soldier Boy, I was promised that he would be in 8 episodes and that was a lie.

I just want people to remember that this wasn't years ago and this isn't a thing of the past, that mob mentality of that group that terrorized America with their red hats and tiki torches hasn't left. This last Election where that person was officially voted out, his followers were flooding streets and attacking people. I was driving home from work and accidentally made eye contact with one of them while they were protesting on a street corner and instead of just continueing to stand of the corner waving their sign, they came out to my car and not only tried to get inside my car, they called others over to try and rock my car and bang on my windows because I refused to look at them or acknowledge them much less answer them on who I voted for.

They parked outside voting stations and where we could mail our votes and would attack people. My sister tried to drop off her ballot and guys in red hats tried to follow her home, she didn't tell them who she voted for but they followed her screaming racial slurs every chance they got. She drove around for hours trying to lose them and she was so scared when she realized how much gas she wasted and they were still on her, she called me sobbing and begging me to meet her somewhere.

I got sexually assaulted at work, and instead of letting me file a report with HR, my boss told me to let it go because he was friends with the men who assaulted me and told me to 'lighten up'.

Every time Homelander says that to Starlight, I twitch.

So, while I am very excited about this show and this season, I can't wholeheartedly love where they got their inspiration.

tv review
Like

About the Creator

Mae McCreery

I’m a 29 year old female that is going through a quarter life crisis. When my dream of Journalism was killed, I thought I was over writing forever. Turns out, I still have a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.