Humans logo

HIPPIES AND GYPSIES

WHO I WANT TO BE

By Novel AllenPublished 3 years ago Updated 4 months ago 3 min read
1
Steven Weeks-unsplash

I AM A HIPPIE/GYPSY AT HEART.

TO ROAM FREE AND UNFETTERED.

OUT IN NATURE JUST BEING ME.

TO GO WHERE I WANT GO, DO WHAT I WANT DO.

These unconventional beings are me at heart. I love the concept of facing each day doing something different.

Waking up and saying "so what are we doing today". Not the same thing we did yesterday.

Something new every day. Go somewhere different everyday.

I want to wear my 'Bellbottoms' and 'Tie dye' shirts.

Stephen-Unsplash

I do not want 'Platform' shoes though, first time I tried to wear one my period came prematurely. I strained my poor body.

I love the beautiful sandals and headbands, worn in natural locks and untreated hair.

Tons of flowers in my hair.

Charlotte Cowell-unsplash

I wonder if they took regular baths, I mean, we are moving around all the time. A lake, river or the sea, I believe that is what we will do. I would have to do that.

MIKE FLAMENCO PIC-UNSPLASH

So lets start with that VW VAN. All painted with lovely flowers for our flower children.

Eugen-Unsplash

We will all pile into the van, start out journey with great anticipation of what the day may bring.

Whether it is meeting new fascinating people or just enjoying the countryside, we hope to have a fulfilling day.

Houcine Ncib-unsplash

We will definitely stop and hug a tree.

Eddie Kopp-unsplash

The original gypsies were nomadic and came to Europe from Asia and Iran in the 14th or 15th century. They were very colorful and spoke Romany as their language. They mostly now live in Europe and the United States.

I firmly believe that living simply is the key to much happiness. No worries about the huge mortgage and expensive education. But we always over think what we really need in an attempt to compete with each other.

Fashion should be just as simplified and free falling. At least to me.

Sometimes my family say I dress like a vagabond. All mismatched and crazy. Not well put together like they are.

I do not care. I am comfortable.

And it takes all sort of us to make the world go round.

So it's the gypsy hippie life for me.

I do have my own guitar, it needs a little tuning, but it plays. I am already halfway to my gypsy/hippie life. Only half.

A little bit of the hippie life is always around. You espy them every now and then and you think "look, a kindred spirit".

Caroline Hernandes-unsplash

I love this life minus the other recreational stuff, you know, drugs, murder and free form canoodling.

Jacob avanzato-Unsplash

Beautiful fiery Dreamcatcher.

There is a little bit of a rebel in all of us.

Although the 60s and 70s were years of turmoil for the Hippie movement, protesting the Vietnam war was a big issue for them. The concept of being free of everyday troubles and just do the dress up and the flower children act day by day petered out because one must have substance to live.

You will have to be able to sustain yourself.

The end of the war and various acts of violence ended this movement. With nothing more to protest and no money eventually people dispersed .

Yet their attitude towards the natural nature of things, their unconventional mode of dress and their craving for a mental state free of restrictions was what attracted their many followers.

Matthew Trader-Unsplash

Despite the many setbacks I identify with the overall psychology of the group.

Who does not want to defy convention and do what truly makes them happy.

Keenan Constance-Unsplash

I DO.

We are going to need a SUMMER OF LOVE RESSURECTION AFTER COVID FESTIVAL. OUR NERVES NEED A CALMING DOWN.

PEACE AND LOVE.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.