Humans logo

Hidden Away in The Heart of Hollywood

My Oasis

By Chelsea SpackPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Hidden Away in The Heart of Hollywood
Photo by Jake Blucker on Unsplash

It’s 7am, and I’m just waking up. I start the coffee pot and do some stretches while it brews. Finally, collagen-enhanced coffee in hand, I make my way over to my SPOT. The spot I’m at each and every morning. The spot where I sit, breathe, process, meditate, dream, journal, and start my day. The spot is nothing fancy, nothing complicated. It’s the chair by the window. It waits for me every morning, and welcomes me like an old friend. There’s a plush blue blanket on the chair that I burrow under as I sip my coffee and crack open my journal. I take a deep breath and look out the window, allowing my mind to daydream. Not only is my spot nothing fancy, the view from my spot is nothing spectacular. It’s ordinary. But that’s just it: this is the spot where I practice enjoying the ordinary things in life. I am aware of each and every sound outside, awake to the early-morning coming-and-going of neighbors, and can hear the distant hum of traffic.

Like I said, ordinary, but wonderful!

The “spot” is located inside my studio apartment which is located in the heart of Hollywood, California. My apartment is wedged in a little corner that is between two very busy and loud avenues. Somehow, however, there seems to be some kind of sound-proof cloud around my apartment. All is calm and all is quiet right outside my window. Less than a block away, there may be rioting, homeless people yelling, cars honking; but my little block is surprisingly peaceful. Here, despite distant sounds, everything feels totally quiet. I am able to tune into my environment and listen to the birds, the wind rustling the trees, and the sounds of my own breath.

Sitting in my spot brings me into my day with gratitude for the simple things in life. This spot reminds me of the beauty of each day. This spot helps me appreciate the blue sky, the trees, and the constant sunshine to which I get to wake up (THANK YOU, CALIFORNIA). There are few distractions, but there is ample creative stimulation. I am able to process my own thoughts and think through my day. Living in a big city, having a spot that feels safe, cozy, and artistically stimulating is such a gift, and an absolute necessity. I am grateful.

I have found that I am a morning person. I thrive on having a morning routine. I prefer at least two hours of uninterrupted quiet to myself in the morning, to wake up and set intentions and “center myself” before going out into the world. I need to feel tucked away and cozy, like I’m perching in a spot where I am free with my thoughts and can feel what I feel and lovingly guide myself into the type of day I want to create. This spot allows me this opportunity.

I love that I can observe the outside world but no one can bother me. This might sound harsh or voyeuristic, but I am a student of life, of human behavior, of people in general, so being able to notice people coming and going in the morning is truly enjoyable for me.

My ordinary, quiet spot is an oasis in a city full of people seeking thrills, fame, and wanting to be seen. This is my hidden spot. I am me, with no filter, experiencing the things in life that most fuel my soul. From there, fully present and fully me, I have something to give to the world. My tank is full. I can experience the joys of California, the joys of life. I am a better version of myself because of the spot I’ve created to perch on, and the space I’ve created in my life to become who I want to be.

humanity
3

About the Creator

Chelsea Spack

I love life!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.