Humans logo

Here's Why I Got Vaccinated Against Covid-19

My Body, My Choice.

By Chris HearnPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Towfiqu Barbhuiya/Unsplash

So, I've been double vaccinated for Covid-19 and boy am I happy. Why? Well, because a vaccine exists! Why not take advantage of the fact that vaccines have been developed to combat Covid?

Yes, I know that I can still get Covid despite being vaccinated, but also know that the effects of getting ill will most likely be greatly reduced. This seems like an awfully good deal to me. I get a couple of jabs, and my chances of survival shoot up? Yay!

Yes, there are increasing government mandates that say people need to get vaccinated in order to do certain activities, including work. That didn't have any bearing on my choice. I was vaccinated earlier on before all of these mandates came into effect. I didn't need much in the way of incentive. I didn't need a government mandate.

Now, yes, I had some concerns early on about the vaccines. When they started talking about the vaccine coming out soon, it did seem to be a little too quick. But, once it was apparent that the vaccines were quite safe and any risks outweighed the benefits it didn't take me long to sign up. I know vaccines have helped humanity out of some sticky situations in the past. So, it's actually quite wonderful that we do have a vaccine available so quickly. It's a real feather in the cap to the scientists who develop these vaccines that they were able to get it to us so fast.

My understanding is that during the last major SARS epidemic in 2003, work began on the development of a vaccine. For some reason that epidemic ended before a vaccine was required. But the groundwork was laid for the development of a Covid vaccine, which is also a SARS virus. Covid doesn't appear to be going anywhere, so having a vaccine is awfully nice, I must say.

RELATED: Covid-19 Madness: Stop Fighting Over Masks

So, who did I get vaccinated for? Well, I know a lot of people love to take a more altruistic stand on this claiming they are doing if for their community and loved ones. Yes, that is a positive reality of getting vaccinated. But, for me, I was in it for myself. And there is nothing wrong with that, as far as I can see. I wanted the protection for my own personal reasons, including underlying health issues. If it helps the community, hey, that's great. But, most of all, I did it for me.

I've grown to trust these vaccines. Several billion people across the planet have received them. They've proven themselves and shown that they are quite safe and effective, for the most part. Everything has SOME risk. Even taking an Aspirin comes with some risks. So, fear of the minimal risks did not stop me.

RELATED: The Day Winnipeg's Anti-Vax Movement Went Too Far

Why wouldn't I do it for myself? The thing is, I can't control anyone else. The only person that I can control is me. I know that some people say, "I got vaccinated for the community and the people I love and you should do the same, you selfish jerks!" Well, the way I see it is that you can't force people to get vaccinated. They have to make their own decisions on that. Yes, I do go by the adage "My Body, My Choice." So, I got the vaccine for me. It was my body and I made the choice to try and protect it by getting vaccinated. If others follow suit, more power to us all. I hope that as many people as possible make it their choice.

I want to see this pandemic end, absolutely. Although I am not living in fear of Covid-19, I also know that I really don't want to get it. Based on reports, it's an ugly disease that can kill you, obviously, or leave you suffering for a long time. I don't want that. At all. If getting vaccinated can help prevent that, and the vaccine HAS been proven to be helpful, then, hey, I'm in.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Chris Hearn

I'm a 47 year old writer, amateur photographer and amateur dad living in Winnipeg, MB, Canada.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.