Humans logo

Happy What the Heck-La-Days

From My Family To Yours

By Nevaeh Rhodes (Emily Murff)Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Happy what the heck-la-days!

This year is about to make an exit leaving our heads whirling asking what the heck was that. It was a long and difficult year, to say the least, for most. Our kids had to transition into E-learning and walked around the house skipping class right in front of our faces. We didn’t have concerts or scheduled events. Sporting events were canceled and we had to ask people to wear their masks so our kids could wear their helmets. We avoided family and friends like the plague...because...well because it kinda was. I don’t know if this virus is going away or if its here to stay for awhile but my two teenage boys and I decided to create a holiday card we hoped would bring a smile to the faces of our loved ones. One that would be a small beacon of light among the seemingly dark days.

All in all this year was not that bad for us as it provided us with opportunities to spend time together that we other wise would not normally have had. I was fortunate enough to have older children that understand the bank account went on a diet and to be honest is looking anorexic this holiday season. In fact it’s just about the only thing that seemed to slim down this year, but I was grateful because my kids didn’t even approach with a long list of demands and ransom notes this year. Instead they asked for things like snow on Christmas and family game and movie nights. They wanted experiences and the thrill of creating memories over expensive toys and gadgets. We found ways to hang out and activities to enjoy with our small family unit. My youngest son and I practiced archery in the yard with his compound bow. I played video games with my oldest. I even managed to remove my moms nose from the latest smut novel she was reading to play spades and poker with me and my boys.

We created memories that will warm our hearts for years to come. The best, most meaningful transition took place as the whole family shifted away from society’s brain washing of consumerism and focused more on love and family creating a wonderful holiday season that I truly hope turns into a blissful tradition.

In the years past I found myself stressed to the max with anxiety and worry overflowing at every corner of the holiday season, all but completely stealing my holiday cheer and causing me to empathize with the feelings of the Grinch. The cost of the holidays left me feeling over encumbered and depleted. I seemed to have to play catch up for several months post Christmas only to do it all over again the following year. I actually dreaded November and December and remember wishing I could just skip them all together. I’m so grateful to say that this year is the first in many that I felt I could breathe just a bit easier. I feel like everyone understood that gifts wouldn’t be purchased for every human Id ever met, and those who did warrant a gift would receive one handmade with love. I made fudge and peppermint bark along with several other baked goods and given to those closest to me. For the rest we waved at a distance with smiles you couldn’t see as we passed each other in the grocery stores, but the love was still felt and the Christmas cheer spread even with the virus in the air. I can’t help but feel like this is how the holidays were meant to be enjoyed. So from my family to yours Happy Holidays and here’s to a better and brighter new year!

family
Like

About the Creator

Nevaeh Rhodes (Emily Murff)

I love to create. Writing is what I am most passionate about. I just want to create things people will enjoy. I believe that words are very important, and the delivery of them is important as well. I hope to captivate you with my stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.