Humans logo

Grace

Letting Go

By Brady YoungPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

What I'm about to talk about is something that I've been learning lately; grace. When I say grace, I mean the unfair, forgiving when I'm not in the wrong, not wanting to have grudges, irrational, against human nature, forgive and forget kind of grace. For myself, I have a tendency to trust really fast, really easy, and that can open myself up to being hurt, or let down, or anything like that. It's cause of my trust that I've really been learning to be in a state of unfair grace, that if/when I get hurt, I forgive and move on. Holding onto things like grudges, anger, bitterness, to anyone or anything is like a genetic disease, it just keeps getting passed on to the next generation.

Reading so many stories about how children have carried things like anger or hate from their parents is heartbreaking. I look at the world we live in, all the hatred that just keeps circling the pot, never taken out and washed away. It's easier said then done, but how easy would it be to go through life when you just get rid of that anger and bitterness towards someone when they do something wrong? Instead of reacting in a vengeance kind of mindset or just spouting out horrible words, we forgave those that wronged us. A lot of people's reactions are usually to say something hurtful, soul crushing, negative, or even to throw a punch, but what if it wasn't?

I have gone through so much, and I used to hold onto things, never letting go. But, I realized that once I let go of what wronged me, and gave grace, weights dropped off my shoulders. My heart felt lighter, and I felt the gut wrenching feeling in my gut disappear. This is an ongoing process though, and there are things that even those closest to me are shocked at that I've given grace for. I'm only 21, but I've gone through a lot, but in this article I'm talking about grace, not my life, and I'm not trying to focus on me.

But, just think of all the things that could be solved if we forgave and forgot. Countries and people might get along. What comes with grace is also love, and in today's age, we need more love. Love and grace is vital in this world, not anger and death and bullets. Slander me for this article and what my opinions are, that's fine. But, it's just my opinion in what I'm about to say. It's harder to continue being angry and hate on someone when they are continuously nice and loving towards you. When people are like that, you either have to walk away, or you just want to get to know that person.

If we changed our initial reactions, our days could initially be changed for the better. There would be less stress when driving and you get cut off. Instead of screaming your head off, laugh it off. When customers at a job are rude, smile; it hurts to see a smile when you're being inconsiderate and really makes you think about your actions. Instead of holding something against your spouse, or boyfriend or girlfriend, even when they are in the wrong, forgive them, apologize. I know it's difficult sometimes, but you'll feel so much better and you can get back to laughing and smiling.

Grace is irrational, unfair, and that's the kind of grace we should have for one another. Instead of holding grudges against one another, have open arms and love in your heart. Spread love, spread life, spread joy, spread grace.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Brady Young

I'm 21, I'm a self-published author and slowly building my platform. I'm all about doing what you love, and following your passion. I like living outside the box, because the inside is too crammed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.