Humans logo

Gobbledygook! Nice is the old stupid!

I meet my husband because of my passion for grammar.

By X-iota DevelopmentPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

One of my passions is mindful writing. Apparently, it's one of my husband's passions too... We found each other on an online dating platform; we independently had weeded out potential spouses by whether they put effort into formatting a sentence. That's right! I had given up on higher standards. If my suitor could capitalize the first word of his sentence and end it with a period, I would answer his message. I was shocked at how few people made the effort for basic punctuation. After months of disappointment and only a handful of dates, my writing wonder approached and successfully wooed me with his well-chosen words. My husband not only wrote me punctuated sentences, but he took the time to send me a witty howdy. I immediately clicked his profile. It was humorous and unique. And despite a handful of his lifestyle choices being on my "not compatible" list, I decided to at least talk to him since he made me laugh out loud. Instantly, I craved to know more. I couldn't resist. Who was this person? We quickly bonded - acknowledging the other's ability to write. We began to talk every day. But I was stubborn. He knew I was the one for him immediately, whereas I insisted on friendship only. Then after months of patiently pursuing me, he sent me a song. The lyrical video perfectly suited our backgrounds, and our current ways of being. That was it! I was undone. He won me over. All the reasons, I had for "not compatible" somehow didn't matter. This man understood me. We could work through our differences because we knew how to communicate. We spoke the same language. We are now celebrating our 2nd year anniversary with our one year old son. Marriage and motherhood are not smooth sailing, but I have never been more fulfilled in my life.

If I could use my passion for words and grammar to make a difference in the world, I'd help people express their written versions of themselves; help them find their verbose style. Just as one's fashion or hygiene can silently attract or repel those around them, one's written aura can do the same. One shouldn't fit a particular mold, but to break rules, one needs to understand the rules.

A membership with me would result in my followers writing and speaking with confidence. The goal is not to teach stuffy grammar or to correct sentences for a one time interview. Rather, the intention is to have a presentation makeover through customized linguistic training. The lifestyle outcome would be no longer hiding behind lazy texting styles filled with emojis hoping that others do not discover that one doesn't understand how apostrophes play. Or discover that they are not practiced at roaring through a thesaurus.

Each member would stylize their own verbose version of themselves. They would set up their own end game. I would analyze their communication style and identify the drag. For instance, a gentleman may want to know how to improve his communication with his wife. I would show him that his go to word "nice" is the old "stupid". (Nice comes from the Latin "ne" +"sci" [of science or knowledge], so it literally means to "not know". ) And as a descriptor, it really just fails to get the girl. Ladies, would you get butterflies in your stomach over: "you have a nice smile..." versus "your gorgeous smile..."?; or: "you look nice" verses "you look... (sigh) wow!"? Nice is degrading - no effort involved. It can be used sarcastically, or as a.. "I... don't... know...what...to say..." filler: "that's nice." Just by switching out this word for life, this husband can make his wife feel more appreciated.

Words fuel fire and squash flames. It's true in my life. I think it is true for everybody. A membership with me would help improve relationships by improving everyday communication.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

X-iota Development

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.