Humans logo

Getting Back The Years After Being With A Narcissistic Person

It Is Possible

By Frederick EmersonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Getting Back The Years After Being With A Narcissistic Person
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

Getting back the years after being with a narcissistic person can feel like a task that is not feasible. But it is.

Time is our most precious commodity. Unfortunately for many us, we never understand, or appreciate, the value of time…until it is too late.

When we look back at our life and see how much time we WASTED with the narcissists, it can be a devastating realization. That the months, the years, the…decades that we gave to the narcissist were used in a rather wasteful way.

And for many of us, it can feel like we have been cheated. The amount of regret that we feel can be at times…overwhelming.

This is normal.

This is understandable.

Time cannot be given back.

But we CAN TAKE time back.

And I know…it hurts. But the time we have left — we need to use to the best of our ability.

When You Feel Like You Just Wasted So Much Time

By Sonja Langford on Unsplash

The realization of giving someone so much of our lives is a pain that is unlike anything else in this world. I know for myself when I realized I was being used and manipulated that the years I gave to the Narcissistic person, felt like they were…STOLEN from me.

I felt like:

“How dare they take my time.”

“How dare they take my life.”

“Who do they think they are to manipulate me.”

So, I know…I know how it feels at an emotional level.

But I also realized that if I kept on ruminating over the past (years to which I can never get back) I will waste the years I have left.

And as cliche or anti-climatic an answer this may sound, it is a truth that I had to accept for me to…MOVE ON and appreciate MY LIFE all over again.

I know for many, the idea of just moving on is an absurd way of looking at what has been lost.

But the true absurdity is to keep giving time and energy to a narc…LONG AFTER THEY HAVE GONE.

See, when you ruminate over the years you lost… you lose the years you have in front of you.

Life doesn’t end in your thirties or forties.

Life ends…when we are dead.

As demoralizing as this may sound. We don’t get a second chance at this thing called life.

You may feel like you lost your looks, your body, your beauty.

But beauty, strength, and LOVE are things that cannot be seen (solely) but felt.

And as we grow we should become better.

The narcissistic relationship may have taken our time but it also GAVE us an understanding.

The Narcissistic Person Didn’t Take From Us…They Gave To Us

By Jess Bailey on Unsplash

Learning to reframe the experience with the narc is NOT ignoring what they did. It is not forgetting what they did. It is not lying about what they did.

At the end of it all, It is US looking at the experience FROM A HIGHER VANTAGE POINT.

I make it no secret that WE MUST ALWAYS…ALWAYS…ALWAYS take the higher ground.

We must always be the bigger person…the stronger person…THE BETTER PERSON.

We must climb and elevate to a higher level of understanding and being.

And to become our best version IS ONLY POSSIBLE by going through suffering and pain.

Nobody who has done anything great or extraordinary in life did so by having an easy life.

You may be in your forties or fifties but your life DOES NOT have to end there.

If you left your narc and feel like you have lost something…you didn’t.

You learned, and you must reframe the relationship, so much from the narc

Primarily, what not to be.

The narc is a shattered being NOT a broken being.

They can never be put back together.

But we can.

We can never get back the time we lost.

But we can get back the time we have.

And it starts by reframing the past to create a better future.

dating
1

About the Creator

Frederick Emerson

I am Frederick Emerson, a prolific blogger with a decade of experience in the digital sphere. Through my thought-provoking content, I have captivated readers and sparked engaging conversations on a wide range of topics.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.