Humans logo

Flashback: April 30, 2020

Moving on from my karmic handler ...

By The Vivid DreamerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo credit: Esteemed Queen & Mentality

I don't recall ever being a person feeling fully in love. It's an emotion that was rarely seen in the place other families may have called home. I wasn't a child that said, "I love you" to my parents first to receive the affirmation. I don't think I ever remembered asking if they did either.

Many nights, I overheard combative conversations between my parents. Given their unforgiving insults and empty apologies, I guess it would be difficult to feel the love in sacred places like home.

If you don't feel love at home, how do you know love exists?

For many years, I sought to find the answer to these questions in beds with boys that weren't yet men to understanding what I desired. When love was mentioned, you could've sworn their facial expressions indicated they were passing a kidney stone. They weren't passing a kidney stone. They passed on getting to know me because their intentions weren't to love me.

I didn't understand how to love myself.

This is where my life because "emotionally tricky"...

As I healed from one fractured relationship, I found myself in a new one within a matter of days. Sometimes, a matter of a few weeks should I be unsuccessful in new prospects. Though some may find it disturbing to having numerous sleeping partners, it was just THAT for me. These boys I entertained knew I didn't desire a sexual relationship. I just wanted someone to confide in, feel protected, and allow me to figure who I was.

Years later, I figured I met that guy.

He seemed easy to open up to and get to know. I felt warm when I converse with him, when he came over with flowers, or when he opened my car door. Though these are gestures that should be expected, I didn't know any better. Someone finally treating me how I wanted to feel was a new high for me. At that point in my life, I haven't experienced someone I felt only had eyes for nor made me feel like I exist.

He saw a lot in me that I had to learn; like protecting and loving myself.

Two weeks into the relationship, I regretted my decision. He was controlling, manipulative, deceitful, and above all, narcissistic.

He came dressed with the physical appeal I desired, but he came with a baggage of lessons. As grounded and well-rounded as I was with my morals, I owe it to my morals I didn't cave on many ungodly things he attempted to traffick me to do.

Domestic violence is never okay.

The other day, I was cleaning out my journal box.

I came across a journal entry that reminded me of why I'm glad I was about to terminate the abusive relationship - I wanted out so badly.

I wanted to find myself again and start over. So I packed up my life and moved to a new location. I changed my phone number. I attended self-defense classes, you name it, you did it. I did all the overthinking any domestic violence survivor will do to be prepared.

As much as he tried to hoover, begged, and attempted to manipulate me, I didn't fold.

I wanted to share my journal entry I wrote on April 30, 2020.

I don't understand why he's trying to come back around. Just as I begin to move on from this season with little worry or thought, here he comes.

I'm glad I moved and changed.

Even if I stayed where I use to live, no matter if I kept the same number, the numb feeling in my heart lets me know I won't feel the same.

I'm looking forward to the day my feelings totally dissolve. I can't make him love me and I can't love him any more than I love myself.

So he's going to add us to his list of regrets. I'll add him to my list of lessons learned - self-love and boundaries....

Have you experienced a relationship such as this?

How did you overcome it?

What advice would you give other fellow survivors?

*****************

breakups
Like

About the Creator

The Vivid Dreamer

Awkward to love. Quick to give. My reality is within my words. Esteemed Queen saved me. My life is a bestseller.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.