Humans logo

Five Things Are Sure to Improve All of Your Relationships

Learn the language of love.

By Published 5 years ago 4 min read

If you've never heard of the term love languages, I assure you, it's not pointless or as difficult to understand as one might think (it's what I initially thought, don't worry). In fact, it's rather straightforward; you probably already know what your love language is without being aware, however, developing an understanding of them will definitely create current or future healthy and happy relationships. The term love languages came to popularity after being published in the book The Five Love Languages by Dr. Gary Chapman, in which he discussed how we need to use these love languages to really understand what it is our partners want from us.

Chapman discusses how we should observe the ways in which our partners show love to others because people tend to give love in the ways that they want to receive love. Simply put, a love language is the way in which one shows affection towards others, and this can be applied to more than just romantic relationships. Many people feel as though they aren't being given love in the way that they need it—when sometimes this is just a cause of two people who have two different love languages and aren't communicating the way that they want to receive affection. Of course, it's not really a topic of conversation that arises naturally, but I'm here to help you learn how to identify someone's love language, so that you're able to support them in the ways they desire.

The main love languages identified by Chapman are:

1. Acts of Service

Demonstrating love through actions, be it by holding the door open for them, washing dishes, or bringing home their favourite dessert that they've been craving all week. These people believe actions speak louder than words, and appreciate when others do the same for them. For help, you can demonstrate this with these 100 acts of service ideas.

2. Quality Time

Spending time with people—whether that be eating out, going on adventures, or staying home and doing absolutely nothing—it's all about being near the person(s) that you care about, and without the distractions of a mobile phone or TV. Think togetherness rather than mere proximity. Know how to understand quality time as a love language.

3. Physical Touch

This is often mistaken to be just about sex, but it can really be as simple as hand holding, kissing good morning and goodnight, or touches on the arm, all of which reinforce the ideas of love, security, and emotional closeness. People who value the love language of physical touch, seek to connect with the in love emotions that were probably more prevalent when you first started dating. Know how to speak love through physical touch.

4. Words of Affirmation

Sometimes all someone needs is the reminder that you love them, that you support them, and that you're cheering them on. People who value words of affirmation as their love language can see you show your love for them a million times, but will hold on to the time that you raved on about how amazing you think they are. Spoken affection, praise, and appreciation all speak to a partner who's love language is words of affirmation.

5. Receiving Gifts

This is not so much about materialism, but about physical reminders of love and appreciation in the form of spontaneous "I was thinking about you" flowers. Gift-giving is symbolic of listening and having someone on your mind whilst you aren't with them. The love language of gift-giving doesn't require you to empty your bank account trying to impress the love of your life; think smaller, like their go-to coffee order or their favourite chocolate bar. It's important to know how to love your gift-loving partner.

Identifying Your Love Languages

It's much easier to identify what our own love languages are than to notice them in others; you may even have more than one love language. Start working out what you and your partner value in relationships, in general; what do they love about partnerships and which parts don't they typically like? What makes you (and them) feel appreciated and cherished in relationships? Your answers to the following will likely fit into one, or maybe even more, of the love languages. Of course it's not the relationship bible, but it's definitely a place to start in order to understand your partner—and maybe even yourself a bit better.

If you're still unsure of which love language(s) you prefer, try out this test to find out!


About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights


There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2023 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.