Humans logo

First Real Love How Do You Know?

Is It The Same As When You Were Younger?

By Amanda J MollettPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Love Always

When I was seventeen years old I thought the guy I would marry  ,the future father of my kids was already in my life.  Is it not funny when you are seventeen you think you got it all figured out? When you are twenty -five or thirty you realize you were just a kid and had no clue at all about real love.  I thought I was with whom at that time was to be considered my first love , and in a sense he was . I did truly care about him, but he really was not my real love . The feelings may have been true, but it was not true love. It was not the kind of love that burns deep in your soul.

Back then we thought of our first love being the first kiss, first realtionship, first long term relationship in our lives. The first person we lived with or had sex with. But it is not that simple.

Have you really thought about what a first love really means to you? I did not even really ask myself this until I was in my thirties. Not until my then boyfriend told me that I was his first and last love. Wait... how could I be his first love when he had been engaged before, he had loved before, he had lived with a woman before?

When he had explained to me though why he felt that way I saw that he did have a point. He felt that because I was the person he could be himself with, the first person the he really saw a real future with, the first time he felt truly loved, I in all meaning of the words was his first love.

Before he felt like he was a roommate, he was used. abused, and cheated on. However, with me he never felt like that at all. He saw things in me that he prayed for and thought he would never find. He said now that he had found me that he vowed to himself to never let me go.

I thought about my old boyfriend, the boyfriend that was my first everything. And I asked myself why was I so certain he was the one. The truth was that I really was not sure if he was the one. I was never told by my parents what truw love was, or how I would feel when I found it. I lost my mom at a young age, I was barely an adult when she died. I never got to say to her, " Hey, mom? How do I know when I find the one?" My husband told me that when he asked his own mother that question, she told him that he would know when he found the right person. He expected it would hit him like a brick ,and it did.

When you have true love it feels so much different than the kind of love that you have when you are a seventeen years kid just beginning in the world. It is definitely a different feeling when something is real. I will pass on what I learned while my mom was still alive that no matter what you are wearing or what your hair looks like, it does not matter because the person who really likes you is not going to care what you are wearing or if your hair is a mess. And it really is true, and I know because when I met my husband, it was winter time I was wearing a heavy coat and a hat was coveringmy hair and I was wearing sweats, he was still taken in by me. The right one will always want you no matter how they first meet you.

love
Like

About the Creator

Amanda J Mollett

First, and foremost I am a mom…always . I am a proud mom of a graduate & artist. I am a author/writer and a journalist. I have multiple certificates in journalism and various writing certificates such as novel writing and creative writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.