Humans logo

Finding harmony

I crochet because murder is illegal!

By Ana FrowleyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Everybody has experienced stress at least once in their lives. Work and family troubles, lack of money, problems with health – the list is endless. Life is tough and full of unpleasant moments and complex situations. That`s why it is so important to find the way to release the tension and get rid of all negative thoughts. For some people it`s very easy to disconnect from the outside world and harmful factors. Others are like me – we start overthinking, immerse into self-destructing rage, suffer from anxiety and insomnia.

I have never been a calm person, a person who can fully control their emotions, a person who lives in harmony with themselves and the world around them. To be honest, I`m the complete opposite of that. One wrong word, one wrong look and I ignite. I swear I can feel my blood boiling in my veins. I understand I can`t live this way. I need to be calmer, to learn to let the situation go, to ignore it.

Easier said than done.

All my life I have been fighting with myself and with my tantrums. I`ve tried several things: boxing, meditating, anger management therapy. I truly loved boxing. It helped me to channel both my energy and anger. I was able to enjoy it until my coach got me into the sparring. With the first punch in the face, I lost it. Needless to say that my boxing match turned into MMA. Well, I had to quit.

Then my friend suggested yoga. I tried my best, but couldn`t tolerate it. I barely finished the first lesson. Sitting in the same pose for half an hour – no, thank you.

After failing to control my emotions, especially anger, so many times I started to think that something is wrong with me and I need professional help. This is how I met Dr. Hale – the most amazing person, who really helps people. It was he, who recommended me to find a hobby, something repetitive. In the beginning I didn`t take him seriously and was rather sarcastic. However, Dr. Hale can be very persuasive and I started to think what I could possibly do. Then I remembered that long time ago during my school years I was quiet good in crocheting. I decided to give it a try. I bought yarn, hooks of different sizes, found interesting patterns.

With the first stitch, I realized that I like it. It was easy for me to crochet as if I have been doing it my entire life. Stitch after stitch, row after row, I transformed a ball of yarn into a blanket, toy or scarf. I completely immersed myself. I tried to find new interesting and complicated patterns, always challenging myself.

I never found crocheting boring despite the fact that crocheting itself is the combination of the same stitches. I think I was interested because all these same stitches created something new all the time. As soon as I started a new project I couldn`t wait to finish it, to see the result. I started experimenting with different yarns and various patterns, trying impossible combinations. I opened an entirely new chapter of my life. I started to attend exhibitions, craft shows, fairs. I made friends with people with the same hobbies and interests. I didn`t realize it at first, but I became calmer, stopped getting mad over nothing. Gradually, I managed to find my inner piece, my harmony. Now I realize that when I crochet I fall in some kind of trance. The outside world doesn`t bother me anymore. Well, I`m still the same sarcastic person and when people make comments about my hobby, I simply answer them “I crochet, because murder is illegal”!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Ana Frowley

I`m so excited to share my world with all of you.

IG: @ana_belle_11

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.