Humans logo

Final Thoughts of 2023

Reflecting and looking forward to a new year

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 4 months ago 5 min read
Like

2024 is fast approaching and it's an opportunity for everyone to reflect on the accomplishments and memories that happened to them this year. On the other hand, you might have experienced some personal difficulties or even the loss of a friend or loved one. A new year is a way for you to wipe that slate clean and focus on what goals and aspirations you want to succeed in 2024. Before I share my personal thoughts about 2023, I want to show my love and gratitude to a special group of people.

Creators on Vocal

Since becoming a creator on Vocal in 2018, I was grateful to find a community where I was able to find solace in writing at a time where I faced many hardships in my life. Being able to write stories about the things that would not only relatable, but inspirational to those who are willing to read them. Earlier this year was the fifth anniversary of me joining Vocal and I'm appreciative of the wonderful comments I receive on my stories. I grew up in an abusive and toxic household. One of the things I loved doing as a kid was writing. I could freely express my thoughts and feelings, something l was never able to do in the presence of my abusive parents. Today, I'm delighted and thankful to be part of a platform like Vocal where expressing yourself through writing is never wrong. I've had a few stories that were featured as top stories, along with receiving tips. Thank you, Vocal for letting me be myself unapologetically and supporting me along the way.

With that being said, I have one piece of advice for my fellow Vocal creators: keep on writing. No matter how many subscribers you have or finally seeking to have that one story featured, never lose hope. I know that sounds cliché to some of you, but it's the truth. Never give up on the passion to write. Who knows? Your stories might be life changing to someone reading them.

November 1, 2023: Finally!

The best moment for me personally that I've witnessed and enjoyed in 2023 was seeing my favorite team, the Texas Rangers, finally winning their first ever World Series title. When Josh Sborz recorded that final out, I screamed with joy and couldn't believe that the Rangers finally won the World Series. I got down to my knees and started crying. I made a reaction video on TikTok, if you're interested in seeing that. I'll have a link to it at the end of this story. As a loyal Rangers fan of 22 years, this moment was emotional and I was glad that I got to witness something very special. The feeling that I felt that night was similar to when Chicago Cubs fans were feeling when their beloved team won the World Series, breaking an 108-year-old drought. There's plenty of reaction videos of those on YouTube for your viewing pleasure. When you experience your team winning a World Series for the first time in franchise history, it's a big deal. In my opinion, this was the best Postseason and World Series I've ever watched. I'm looking forward to what kind of year the Rangers will have in 2024.

Final Thoughts

For my final story of 2023, I want to take some time to uplift everyone who's reading this. Never settle for less and never be afraid to stand up for what is right. Since I returned to work due to the Covid-19 pandemic in the summer of 2021, I've been having feelings of self doubt. I often question myself if I'm really doing a great job at the office. I know that I am, but was still struggling with self confidence and self-esteem issues. I'm still working on getting over those trials. I share this to tell everyone to not let anyone devalue your worth or make you feel like you're less important. If you're trying to pursue a goal or goals, personally or professionally, go for it. It's okay to be a bit selfish of what you want in life. You have one life, so make the most of it. Be bold and never apologize for having ambitions. I believe in you and you got this. My childhood may have been traumatic and horrifying to me, but I was taught at a young age to never back down. I'm pushing towards 40 and I no longer care what others think of me, but I refuse to take anyone's crap. Everyone's not to like me and that's okay. I'm not here to please anyone. I owe no one an apology for standing up for what I believe in or for being myself. Everyone should have that mindset. The opportunities are there if you look and work hard enough to seize them. Be a badass, not just every day, but in life. It's never too late to chase after what you want, regardless of your age.

I want to ask everyone for a favor. If you loved any of my stories this year, please kindly leave a one-off tip, which is located at the end of this story. No matter how big or small it is, you're supporting creators like myself and encourage us to write more stories. Also, feel free to follow me on social media and subscribe to my page on Vocal.

Have a prosperous new year and may it be in your favor.

https://www.tiktok.com/t/ZT8QCLgTs/

humanityadvice
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.