Humans logo

Feeling Lonely

An anonymous journal entry

By Jessica NorrisPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
3
Feeling Lonely
Photo by Warren Wong on Unsplash

The darkness and emptiness fills the room as tears fill my eyes. I sit on our bed and cry harder than I have in a long time. Why is my life what it is today? Why do I still feel all this pain? Will it ever feel good again? I've become very negative on that subject. I don't understand the addiction to gambling and it is tearing us apart. I love him more than I love myself and yet I can't wrap my head around this. The fact that this is what we are going to lose to, some slot machine in a dive bar and dive gas station preying on the hearts and souls of addicts in our town. There are slot machines in every gas station but two and every bar and almost every eating establishment has machines. They are everywhere. Their bells and whistles just luring him in to ruin our lives together. The bells and whistles here at home have long gone a while ago. Seventeen years I guess things get stale or you get bored, I'm not sure. I still love him more than life itself so I'm still having a hard time understanding the logic behind the behavior of self-destruction. He is unknowingly pushing me away and it hurts. The glances of love I once received are replaced with looks of hate, disgust and shame. I know I've gained weight, COVID has really impacted me and being diagnosed mentally ill, bipolar depressed with depression, is has been especially hard for me. So I know that I haven't been the perfect version of myself either but I haven't tried to break our bond. I sit here alone in my room in the darkness and I concede to the gambling and it wins again. He continues to do it knowing the possible consequence is losing me is just sending a message that I'm replaceable and easily done so by a slot machine. He has found solace in these things, something I can not give him. However, when he loses which is often he comes home beaten. He looks terrible. It is not a good look on him, regret and shame. He does not wear it well. That is not the man I married. He was a strong provider that would never sacrifice our relationship in this way. He is lost and I am afraid it is because he is not happy with me. He is not happy and this is how he shows it without saying it out loud. Is that true I ask myself as I sit here alone in the darkness of my own mind? My father, abusive, always told me I would never be loved. Was he right? I hope not. I want him to be wrong but all sign point to yes, I'm too much to handle. Instead of telling me that the man of my dreams the man I love can look at me with disgust and hate and tell me to get out of our home because I'm angry because he spent over 500$ in the slot machines in two days, mind you we are poor people and can not afford this habit. I'm laid off because of COVID and the side effects I'm suffering and he is the main provider. I would leave if I could. I have no where to go. My mom is in assisted living and my sister lives here with me. There is no where for me to go but I find myself needing that more now than ever. See I'm sitting here in the darkness of my room and I am contemplating the only way I get out of here is dead. Yes that's right suicide is crossing my mind. What now? How could I even ever think that way I have a won. I love him more that I love me. He needs me at least I think he does. I'm not sure though. Sometimes I think he would be happier is I wasn't here to bog things down with all my sadness and anger. Everyone would be better off if I just disappeared. I'm already alone in life. I have a few close friends that would miss me but they would survive. They have lives of their own to live. I've reached out and not one person has noticed that I'm struggling with living on this treacherous life that I'm caught living. I feel as the only place to go is home. But I thought home is where the heart is, that is with my family. I'm questioning who is my family. Not him, he's clearly made a point to keep me out of his life as truly family. He has too much that he won't deal with hindering our relationship growth and his personal growth. I think he'd fed up and done with me and doesn't have the courage to say it. He's trying to get me to leave so I'm working out a way. I don't know how but I'm trying. I don't want to die and I'm afraid if I put up with this much longer I might not have a choice. Lost in all of these rambling thoughts. I am alone and that is scary. It's been a long time since I have been alone. I don't know how. I don't know if I can but even now surrounded in a house with my "family" and I'm still lonely. I have to escape this loneliness someway somehow. I have to escape this downward spiral my life is now stuck in. How to get away? Am I stuck? Will I ever survive this chapter of my life? Honestly I'm not feeling very optimistic. I'm crying out to the unknown. Someone here my cries, I could use a bunch of guidance.

marriage
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.