Futurism logo

Column One: NY Times

Bipolar, can I explain?

By Jessica NorrisPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
3
Column One:  NY Times
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

As I look up and across the sky the stars and moon light up like sparklers on Independence Day. It is a full moon and it scares me. I know what the effects of the moon have on me. Do I believe in astrology? Yes in some sense. Gemini are born between May19 and June 20. Noted as twins Gemini's are known for their two sided behavior. Also know as kind and affectionate and a little chatty. Now all of this information is based on the moon and the planets and how they align and what it does to you on a chemical balance level. I believe this is true being a Gemini all of these things have had notable effects on my life. See I am diagnosed Bipolar Disorder, depressed, with anxiety. Being bipolar has changed me and I have to fight for days of happiness. But I am also the first to help someone if I can. I am always looking out for others and have a care taking gene that is almost an abnormality. People seem to flock to me. I feel like I am a magnet for needy souls. Souls that need to hear my story so they can finish a chapter in their life. Its not necessarily a bad thing but it definitely has an affect on my life. The moon is said to control a Gemini's mood, emotion both sub conscious and conscious, as well as other things. I believe that when the gravitational pull changes and we are physically changed that of course it will change us emotionally and mentally as well. I know that out of 3 of my hospitalizations, two of them were on full moon nights. Being bipolar means that unless medicated there usually isn't a line between manic and depressive for me. I am one or the other. I am lying in bed crying or I am mobile doing something. But on these full moon nights knowing that my body is about to experience a celestial change so to speak I try and pay more attention to how I am reacting to things. Because of the moon and the planets aligning everything seems to find a way to implode or explode whichever applies and it seems like it is out of my control. I am telling you that the sign of Gemini as it is shortly explained does apply to me. All the traits seem to describe me to a T. I also believe that people are crazier than normal when there is a full moon. I haven't completely addressed the other aspects of astrology but the moon and alignment with our planet let alone other planets definitely is factual as well. Like I mentioned before I have a mental illness. I am inclined to tell you that I am currently in therapy and see a psychiatrist. I have for a long time because it is a life long journey. I will never be another sign. I will never change to a Virgo, Pisces, or Sagittarius. I am a Gemini through and through. I have two poles, hence twins. I am kind. I would give anyone the shirt off my back. I love to a point that it physically hurts me and I generally cry when others don't reciprocate my behavior. Although I realize that I am overreacting it happens anyway like I am possessed and I don't remember what is said or done in the moment. I can remember bits and pieces but things tend to black out for me because it is a defense mechanism that I have made for myself. If I don't remember the trauma it didn't happen. Another way of my Gemini mind working is its magic to steer me through life. Have I taken my meds I ask myself every night before bed? When is my next appointment to see the therapist I need to talk? I believe that our chemical makeup in our brain is triggered by many things and this affects everyone differently. I'm a Gemini and those are kinds of ways that it affects me. So why am I afraid of the full moon? I'm afraid because my Gemini brain tells me to be careful how I react, be careful how you feel. The reason I tell myself this is because during a full moon my emotions are heighten ten fold and even though I already have heightened emotions it becomes glaringly affective on my responses and behavior. I know that its triggering the wrong chemical in my brain releasing the wrong amounts of serotonin but it is all because of the gravitational pull that this happens as well as our physical bodies and the chemicals released because of that change. Being bipolar I've learned a lot about how it works to better understand myself and others alike. I am still leery of the full moon. I tend to avoid large gatherings on these occasions. I adjust my life to the full moon. Call me crazy but its true and it has only gotten better because of the education I have gotten both in therapy and by researching my Zodiac sign. Gemini's are passionate. Geminis are emotional. Geminis are twins, or two sided. Is it because of the Zodiac sign that I am the way I am. That paired with the moon and planets alignment all play a role. Can I change things. Only as much as I try to change I suppose is the honest answer. I know the consequences of a full moon and I try to make the right choices all of the time but particularly fail in some sense on nights of full moons. I believe in astrology. Am I an anomaly? Who gets to decide the answer to that question? Who is qualified to give a response. Probably whichever Zodiac sign that thinks they are right about everything, wait did I just describe a Gemini? I don't know better do some fact checking. With all this in mind pay attention to mental health and full moon nights these people require special care because their struggle is extra hard, maybe lend a helping hand. Also, be careful this full moon effect is seen on the sanest of people. Differently too. Growing up around a mental health professional I learned a ton about the behavior of the mentally ill. I submerged myself in the behavior of people in their normal habitats. Not everyone notices the behavior of everyone around them but I try to and it is entirely to educate myself for me and and my safety. Always know your surroundings I was always taught. But to be honest I thing that even the "normal" people not suffering from a diagnosed mental illness are affected by the moon the stars and the planets alike. So if you are ever wondering about the full moon, keep on wondering because curiosity is key to knowledge. I speak from experience, a life time of experience only about 26 years of actually living with a definite diagnosis myself but a whole life of 41 years living the consequences of astrology and how it affects everyone around us. Knowing the things I know now I am not quick to judge. I try to be more patient with people, not knowing everyone's astrological sign its best to always be kind. I have not researched the entire astrological system I mainly narrowed my search on Gemini's but I know everyone reacts differently depending on their sign and what these stars and moons and planets have in store is on a complete different astrological plane for every single person. Therefore, each response from each individual is unknow and definitely different. So act accordingly and try to know why your reactions may seem out of character. Where is the moon at at what is Mercury doing? That's a whole other topic to cover, Mercury and how it affects us. Today we touch on the moon, maybe tomorrow Mercury. Just know one thing. Astrology is a science and can be proven easily by observing basic human behavior in correlation with the stars, moon, planets and even the sun. Do some research, see what you're up against. Don't be afraid of the moon, learn what it's doing to you and the people around you. This research may lead to a better life, never know there is always room for more understanding.

Truly your Column One advisor:

Jessica Norris

astronomy
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.