Humans logo

Fate takes over

Chosen destiny

By Sherry jacksonPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
1

After getting my usual cup of coffee at Starbucks on my way out someone bumped into me and my coffee splashed all over my red raincoat.

I tuned around to fine a handsome man with his coffee splashed all over his coat. We both stared at each other in disbelief - then I started to laugh and he did also! We both tried to wipe the coffee off of each other while between laughing apologizing to each other.

I couldn’t help noticing his penetrating brown eyes and gorgeous curly brown hair. He was extremely good looking!

Let me buy you another cup of coffee he suggested.

Alright I said still laughing.

While waiting for our order he offered his hand as he introduced himself as Martin Lowe! In return on shaking his hand, I said Tiffany Myers.

He had a firm shake and I felt something warm and thrilling go though me as our hand touched.

I thanked him for the coffee and told him I had a appointment.

So do I , he commented but I could feel we both wanted to linger and find out more about each other. Well if somehow he has some part to play in my life, I would see him again I thought to myself.

It was pouring down rain as we said good bye to each other outside the cafe beneath our umbrellas.

It was something magical about it for his face haunted me all day.

My art gallery wasn’t very far from where she lived. I had opened it about 5 years ago. It was a success! I was planning an charity event and was busy arranging everything for Valentine Night.

I was so happy to finally get home take a shower put on my long satin white robe and relax in my beautifully decorated bedroom with Louis 15th furniture . My bed covered with pink brocade and a handsome dressing table wit a gold tray with all my favorite perfumes on thick soft carpet.

The next day I just wanted to relax. The sky was blue and the sun was bright. There was a chill in the air but it was perfect for a morning walk. I pulled my coat collar up and stroll though the bare leaved trees with occasional tall evergreen trees. There wasn’t many people out and I was just enjoying the solitude when a little girl with her mom behind her slipped and fell. I rushed over to help her up and at the same time another person appeared trying to help also .

It was Martin. We both were surprised but I could see in his eyes pleased to see each other.

He asked if he could join me in my walk and I said of course.

We talked about everything and most of all how we loved New York.

There a little Italian Restaurestvnot far from here he said.

Won’t you join me for lunch.

Okay I said.

It was a quaint cafe with the traditional Italian flare and the food was delicious. It turns out he wasn’t from New York but was here in a business trip and would be leaving after this week end. The mintues flew by as we went from one conversation to another .

I notice him looking at my hand where there was no ring and

I did the same. We smiled at each other and no explanation was necessary.

I was wondering if you might like to go out with me on Valentines.

Oh I’m so Sorry I have an affair to attend. I said.

That fine he replied, with an disappointed look.

We exchanged numbers and he said the next time he was in town he would give me a call.

We parted and on the walk back to my apartment - I knew he was the one I had been waiting for all my life but he had to know it also. Perhaps he will call or maybe he wouldn’t but I had to be prepared emotionally for either way.

My gallery was elaborately decorated in pinks and red tall vases of romantic roses with tall candles placed everywhere for Valentine night!

There were fabulous dishes of gourmet dishes on a longed shimmering red covered buffet table with a ice carved Cupid in the center.

It was a tremendous success with elegant guest strolling enjoying themselves viewing all the lovely paintings.

My assistant came over and sad their was a gentleman who wanted to buy a few of my paintings.

A few I asked her in surprise not just one?

We both smiled at each other.

He is waiting for you in your office.

I stopped to look at my reflection in one of my mirrors to make sure the long black dress and my curly piled high hair was presentable . Quickly applying more red lipstick I rushed to my office.

His back was turned toward the glass wall looking at the bright lights of the city when I entered my office.

He was dressed in a white tuck jacket. There was something familiar about him and when he heard me enter he turned around and to my surprise it was Martin.

For a few moments we just stood and stared at each other. Then he came over to me and took me in his arms.

Oh my love I thought I would not see you again

So this is your gallery?

So you are a art collector.

I collect for my clients! He said.

I had no idea it was you I was going to meet.

He quickly changed the subject as he approached me and put his arms around me.

Fate has taken over — I knew you were the one for me when you laughed at spilling the coffee.

You were someone I had to have in my life forever yet I didn’t know how to make it happen so thankfully fated took over!

Then he kissed me me and all my senses became blurred. When I realized what was happening

I kissed him back with all the eagerness that he displayed toward me.

Several months later we exchanged our marriage vows on a roof top restaurant under a full moon and starry sky.

It was elegantly filled with evergreen and glowing white candles . A white piano with a pianist’s music filled the air as elegantly dressed guest at our reception congratulated us.

We both saw a shooting star and wished upon it together.

I knew my true love had found me . . I was glad I had listen to my grand mother when she said your true love will find you - you just have to believe it in your heart!

My mind went back to the time he proposed.

We went for a drive in the country There was snow on the ground as we stood on a hill over looking the winter wonderland. We stared in silence, holding hands,

He looked at me for a moment without speaking. It was getting dark as the hidden sun went down.. I want you to be my wife, he said.

A tremor went though my entire body.

He came closer and pulled me close to him. There was intense passion between us. I clanged to him and his every word.

Will you —he asked, be my wife?

Overjoyed I screamed, yes!

Then with the snow falling around us we kissed. He picked me up and whirled me around both laughing for joy.

Yes I thought to myself as he held my hand tightly at the reception- yes-fate did take over !!

dating
1

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.