Humans logo

Farewell

Short Story

By Reagan JensenPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

He wrapped his arms around me desperately, feeling the warmth of his body pressed against mine, squeezing tighter, he whispered in my ear “I love you.” I let a sigh of contentment escape my lips, as I felt my body begin to melt, because I could hear the sincerity in his voice as I replied back admiringly “I love you too.” Our eyes locked for a moment and I could see the depth of his endearment beaming in his warm brown eyes as I felt his hand caress my right cheek before letting go. But I didn’t want him to release his hold on me, and I begged in desperation for him to stay, but I knew he couldn’t; as did he. I held onto his hand tightly as we both walked to the rivers edge, stopping, he slightly turned back towards me, slowly letting go of my hand, our finger tips brushing against one another as the sadness and determination in his heart felt eyes stared back into mine. I smiled meekly as he smiled back at me. Turning back around, I watched him as he began to walk away, starring at his backside the entire time. I felt the heart wrenching feeling, as if I had mourned the death of a loved one, wash over me. I quietly whispered “Goodbye, my love” as my chin began to tremble, the tears overflowed my anguish filled blue eyes as I tried to remain strong. He continued to walk further away, as the slight breeze brushed through my hair, while the snow fell gently on the ground; the darkness of the night illuminating the sky. He disappeared out of sight into the dense moonlit forest. I held my breath, fixated on the last spot where I watched him vanish, hoping and wishing he would turn back around. I couldn’t believe I watched him leave. Remembering his warm embrace and hearing those soul-stirring and powerful words “I love you” echo in my ears. I stood there for what seemed like hours, unable to bring myself to turn away, in hopes that he would reappear… but he never did. I could feel the tears race down my cheeks, as I continued to stare desperately into the distance. I felt Welril place his hand on my shoulder then, as he quietly spoke “He will return, in due time, my dear”. I looked over at him, the sorrow withered upon my face, the pain, almost unbearable as I pleaded “Perhaps it’s for the best.” He stared at me, I could see the sympathy on his face as he spoke quietly “You and I both know that isn’t true.” I could feel the pain fill my chest, the weight making it hard to breathe, “Then why does it hurt so much?” I proclaimed in torment. He smiled then, the empathy in his words of wisdom “Because this is real and you are in love.” Unable to fight the grief any longer, I ran towards him, and buried my face into his chest as he held onto me. I sobbed heavily as my body began to tremble in the immense heart ache. I felt his hand gently rub my back as he said “Everything will be okay, he will be back, I promise you this.” As he spoke those words I felt my heart break, longing and yearning for his return even more. At that very moment I couldn’t bring myself to withhold my grasp in the comfort of his arms, because I knew he was right… he just had to be.

breakups
1

About the Creator

Reagan Jensen

Canadian writer posting short stories and quotes all formed within my vast mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.