Humans logo

Faith Morey Responds to Iyabo Ojo Slamming Her For Not Being Able to Speak Her Language

Faith finally responds

By Jide OkonjoPublished 6 months ago 3 min read

The Real Housewives of Lagos season two is over now, but last year, the show drove a lot of conversation online. One of the talking points from the season was a game held on the show where housewives were given a quote which they had to read in their native dialect. On the show, Faith Morey revealed that she didn't know how to speak her native tongue and fellow housewife Iyabo Ojo slammed her for that onscreen saying she claims to be ghetto but doesn't know how to speak her tongue. Now, in a new interview with Arise, Faith Morey is finally addressing Iyabo Ojo's comments. Here is what the housewife had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

During the interview Faith Morey was asked "How did you feel when Iyabo Ojo was like 'you say you're from the ghetto but you can't speak your language' cuz that's something that I think has been a major conversation. Did you think that was necessary?" to which she respsonded:

FAITH MOREY: Well, I'm from Port Harcourt and what do PH people say online? See, the fact that my Port Harcourt people are fighting for me or supporting me on that, I'm good. Do you understand? Because in Port Harcourt, if you live in PH, you know better - that pidgin English, which I'm very fluent in pidgin English. One of the reasons why I joined the Real Housewives of Lagos minus bringing my business on the show was also showing people like me that it's okay. It's okay for you to own your story, it's okay for you to be kind to people even though you meet one thousand people along the way that are mean to you - do not change who you are. It is okay for you to take a year or six years to make someone your friend or call someone your friend because friendship to us is family to some of us. So I wanted girls to know that it doesn't matter where you're from. Why are you comparing, trying to differentiate the both of us? That's insecurity. Why are you going I'm from Anambra, you have to stay here, you're from Port Harcourt, you have to stay here, I'm from Yoruba, you have to stay here. We're all women, why are we fighting Caucasians overseas over discrimination if we are doing the same thing back home?

Thanks for diving into this story with me! Btw, every time you read, support, and share my work, it fuels my hunger to keep bringing you the latest news on your favorite Nigerian celebrities, movies, music and more. Your thoughts also matter to me, so please share them in the comments below, or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post. Let's keep the conversation going! I can't wait to see your thoughts on this.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.