Humans logo

Face to Palm

Moments that make you question life

By Hannah HarwoodPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Face to palm moment https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Facepalm#/media/File:Paris_Tuileries_Garden_Facepalm_statue.jpg

Have ya'll ever been in public and seen something that makes you tilt your head and seriously question peoples judgement or has someone you know done something that you could not help but do the face to palm action? It seems to be a regular occurrence in my life. I am not sure if it is just the places I have gone to in my life or if my family and friends are just that crazy. It seems that I have a face-palm moment on a daily basis. See I live in a small rural community, with my family of four and we have five animals... yes 5 three dogs and two cats. Seriously, the cats are the biggest contributors of my face-palm action. I truly think one of my cats thinks she is a super hero or ninja, randomly jumping sideways and out of every high nook she can find just as you walk under it and my other cat thinks she is a parrot. This cat will climb onto our shoulders and just sit there meowing. Then there is the dog who thinks he is one of my children. Legit, this dog will get on the bus with my kids and watch them sit down and unless he is told to get off he would go to school with them. Or the dog who thinks he has to lay down to eat. He will lay next to the food bowl and casually lap up the food with his tongue. The female dog will hop around like she is a freaking gazelle or antelope even though she sounds like a Glydesdale. Her favorite hobby is finding new and inventive ways to tangle her self up when on her lead outside, sense she thinks she can roam around and cause trouble.

Lets not forget the face-palm moments from being a mom and wife! Many times during the day my family makes me question my sanity and parenting. I have two children who are the happiest, craziest, funniest little humans I have ever met. My youngest is currently trying to expand her vocabulary, so in turn she uses the funniest words at the most random times. Just yesterday, she was dancing around and when I asked her what she was doing she replied "I am being lazy." FACE-PALM... Honey, I don't think you know what that word means. My oldest has had some random moments, mainly when he is sleeping. He has a habit of sleep walking and talking in his sleep. One night, he sat up in his sleep and started trying to eat a lego creation he had made. In the process he said "why is this so hard, I cant bite it." As I attempted to take the lego away from him he tried to bite me and started mumbling random nonsense. As quickly as he sat up, he flopped back into the bed like the act had never happened.

My husband,ah yes my husband.. I love him beyond words but he can do some doozies of moments that make me question things. He is the king of corny jokes and loves to share them. He can take any situation and make it humorous. I can not take him into public. That man is going to end up in one of those videos entitled "People of Walmart". Example why, one day we were in Walmart shopping, during summer... ya know when they have the bikini tops out. Can you see where I am going with this? No? Well in an attempt to create a funny situation my wonderful husband proceeded to pick up a neon green bikini top and put it over his shirt. He then proceeded to walk around the store asking people if it made him look fat. What can a woman do in that moment?

Don't get me started on the people I see in my daily life that I don't know. The girl who showed up to a court hearing looking like she should be walking into a dance club or working a red mile district. The fuzzy pajamas to the most random places. The mattress strapped to the top of Geo-Metro. Seriously, there are face-palm moments EVERYWHERE!

The face-palm moments create an environment of fun and humor. I would not trade them for anything.

humor
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.