Humans logo

F%cking Social Media

I don't enjoy it

By Amanda NicolePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
F%cking Social Media
Photo by YIFEI CHEN on Unsplash

Social media is everywhere these days, it seems like the only way to get anything done is on Social Media. Now please understand Social Media can in fact be a blessing, I've connected with other abusive relationship survivors and had amazing conversations. It's been amazing to connect with others who've been through the same things and to know that I'm not alone in my healing process. That everything I've been through isn't wierd and that other people can relate. I've also found some amazing authors through social media whose books have had profound impacts on my life and the way I think. I've also had the priviledge of sharing my story in hopes of helping other survivors. But behind the amazing connections and conversations I've had theres a dark side to social media. People showing you only what they want you to see and making there life seem just perfect enough. People editing photos to make themselves how they think you'd like them to look. It's a scary world Social Media. How are we supposed to make real authentic connections if we're on Social Media 24/7? The answer is we're not. Now I need to preface this by saying what I said earlier about connecting with other survivors. That has been a blessing. But on the other side of that Social media is filled with people pretending to be someone they're not. It's filled with people that who don't really care about you or have hidden motives. While Social Media can be a great place it can destory people. I think the trick is to balance reality from the destorted image Social Media presents to us. I think the most important thing I've learned is the value of being present. While I may have a mission of sharing my story to those that need to hear it, I also know that Social Media can be a toxic place. It's bad for my mental health and my healing process in some ways. Because while I can find other people that do in fact relate to everything I've been through, there are also times were I don't trust people and feel like maybe they're pretending to be someone else. Maybe I've seen to many episodes of Catfish. But I also don't trust people. It's really hard for me to anyways. See all my relationships in the past have been negative or unhealthy in some way and I'm still trying to work through that. I'm not stuck in my story, I do need to clarify that. I'm simply trying to heal. Heal from the crap I've been through and to be honest Social Media doesn't help to much. In fact it doesn't help at all. It makes things a bit worse. It can make me feel extremely lonely sometimes and unworthy of love. It can also make me feel fat and like I shouldn't eat anything. I realize Social Media can be a tool and a way to connect with people. I'm forever grateful for that. But I need to be careful also as Social Media has destroyed me over the years. I've had some interesting moments to say the least. I certainly apprecaite the good parts of Social Media but I don't appreciate the bad parts and the harm it can cause on people. It's pretty bad. I enjoy laughing at a good Tik Tok here and there and tweeting about whatever Easter Egg Taylor Swift has dropped recently. But I do want to make one thing very clear. I'm really trying to heal so on behalf of all other healing people be kind.

social media
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Nicole

Hey I'm Amanda! I'm a writer, Podcaster and a pet sitter. I'm much more then that! Read my stories to find out :)

https://linktr.ee/gilmorepretty

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.