Humans logo

Eternally yours

Bonds unbroken

By Sherry jacksonPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
1

I was standing in line to be checked out at the grocery store when I noticed the customer in front of me.

He had on shorts and a blue shirt but somehow he had managed to capture my full attention.

I could only see his back but the way he put the grocery on the counter and his movements had a certain attractive dignity.

At that moment he turned and looked at me. He was very handsome with straight black hair falling casually over one eye.

I turned away nonchalantly and he turned his back to me again and finished his transaction.

To my surprise his car was parked next to mine, and I saw he was busy putting his grocery in his car.

Then by accident I dropped an orange and Before it could roll too far away, picked it up and gave it back to me.

Thank you I said.

He smiled and said you are welcome. He walked back to his car and was about to drive away and I found myself asking,

Do you live around here?

Pardon me for saying that but you don’t look like my usual neighbors - I mean you well… I said.

You are right he said I just moved in this week.

I moved here here from Europe.

They both stood there smiling at each other. Something was happening - some mysterious feeling she had never felt before began to come over her.

Well- I better go. Thank again. I said.

It was my pleasure, he politely said and his eyes looked deep into mine.

Then he drove away.

Driving home I couldn’t help from thinking about him. I thought, surely I would see him again at the grocery store.

Yet each time I went hoping to run into my mystery stranger again, he wasn’t there.

After several weeks I gave up on the it ever happening.

Then one day out of the blue I decided to go to a different gym for my daily work out.

I was doing my bicycle exercise when I looked up and there he was across from me on the tread mill.

I was glad I had on all my pink Nicky outfit with matching pink shoes. I always got admiring glances from guys when I wore it.

He was just finishing up so I got off the bike and casually walked pass him hoping he would remember me.

When he saw me he smiled.

Well hello he said as he got off the tread mill.

Fancy meeting you here, he said.

Pardon me, I turned to look at him I acted like I didn’t know who he was.

Oh I’m sorry he said. Remember me, I picked up your Orange in the parking lot at the grocery store?

Oh yes I said I said pretending to remember.

That was so nice of you.

Thanks again.

I kept walking. He rushed to catch up with me.

Do you come here often? he asked.

Here oh sometimes- not often.

I kept walking- with a smile on my face that he couldn’t see.

Good seeing you again, I said as I got in my car. I turned giving him a big smile as I waved good by to him.

He looked disappointed but smiled snd waved back.

The next day I went back just knowing I would see him there. Perhaps this time we will exchange telephone numbers. If only he knew how my every thought was of him.

I exercise over my time limit, waiting hoping he would appear but he didn’t.

Months went by and he was no where- I couldn’t get him out of my mind.

My co wither and friend asked me to go with her on a trip on a week-end ship voyage.

I said yes hoping it would help me forget about him.

I had on my sparkling green cocktail dress and before going to bed I decided to take a stroll on the deck.

The full moon cast sparkled beams on the choppy ocean. It was beautiful!

I stopped to admire the spectacular view and couldn’t help thinking about how wonderful it would be if he was here.

Then I heard his voice. There was a couple standing not far from me enjoying the view also and when I looked closer i saw it was him.

He saw me at the same time. Our eyes locked.

We stared at each other.

It was the first time I think we really saw each other as our eyes spoke silently to each other- things it seemed we both have been longing to say.

A deep feeling began to emerge from deep within my life. I knew it was a love awakening with a need only he could

The lady was pretty and polished dressed richly stylish in a long red gown. and so into what she was saying she didn’t notice.

I rushed back to my cabin and found myself with cold tears running down my cheeks. This was no game- it was real what I was feeling and it hurt seeing him with someone else.

Yet he never left me as his vibration covered me all night and his face haunted my dreams.

The next day as we were leaving the ship I saw him with her getting into a car but before he got in he paused and turned to looked at me.

Our eyes held each other’s and it seemed like a century, but it was only a few seconds- long enough for me to know he felt the same as I felt. Then he got into the car and drove away.

When I got home I cried. He has stolen my heart and I didn’t even know if I would ever see him again.

Yet I managed to go though my daily routines as days flew by, with him lurking and lingers in my mind and heart.

One day I came out of work and it was raining really hard. I rushed to my car and was pulling out of the parking lot and my car backed into another car.

I got out of my car with my umbrella over my head. I was about to exchange numbers with him when I looked up and it was him.

He stood there in his long trench coat holding a black umbrella and staring at me in shock.

We both knew that this was not coincidental- fate had taken over.

I quickly walked over to him dropping my umbrella on the wet pavement.

He eagerly put his arms around me and I melted in his arms his mouth found mine. The warm rain covered us -drenching us, as we kissed passionately.

He pushed me away so he could look into my eyes.

I was so afraid that I would never see you again, he said. I wanted to let you know that there is no one else but you.

From the moment I met you- I’ve only thought of you!

I won’t let you disappear ever again- where you go is where I will go from this day forward.

Oh yes darling I replied.I felt like I was floating on a cloud for my dream was finally coming true.

We kissed again and it lasted a very long time.

We got married a year later on a ship to Mexico that was the same ship when I saw him with someone else and where we discovered knew where our hearts were entwined.

As we stood together on our wedding night standing on the ship’s deck gazing at the full moon clinging to each other, I knew from deep in my life and heart that he was my eternal love and nothing would ever be able to keep us apart.

dating
1

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle Author2 years ago

    A sweet love story. I enjoyed reading it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.