Humans logo

Forbidden woods

Mysterious encounters

By Sherry jacksonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

Camping was a way we celebrated the ending of all our assignments from our magazine for each quarter.

The four of us Mike Jeff Barbara and I.

The magazine was a success but it was a lots hard work.

Each time we would go camping to a different state and relax for a few days.

The woods were magnificent.

It was a spacious natural area undeveloped except for the trail system. I watched a bird fly overhead. The sky was clear and the pine and cedar trees surrounding the beautiful lake.

Only as we were climbing a small slope my friend Barbara who was know by us for her physic abilities stop dead in her tracks and began to look around suspiciously.

What is it I asked?

All of a sudden the woods were silent no birds chipping. Too silent! I thought.

I heard something in the bushes over there, she said.

We all looked

looked over to where she pointed and All agreed we didn’t see anything.

Okay- she exclaimed, it was probably my over active imagination!

Just at that moment a rabbit hop out of the bushes. We all looked at each other and laughed.

We set up camp, putting the two tents up and Mike made a fire.

The full moon and the evening star rose together glinting on the rippled waters of the lake. I gazed at the rocks and listened to the frogs crocking. Jeff came over and sat beside me on the rock by the lake and put his arms around me.

You know I have always loved you since the wry first moment I saw you. I have to admit - you are my fantasy!

Oh Jeff, I well-

Before I could answer his lips found mine. It was a demanding kiss and I couldn’t help returning with the same intensity.

I had been secretly in love with him for a long time and this was the moment I had been waiting for.

We walked back to the camp holding hands thankful that we had found each other.

We were laughing and making s’more when we heard foot steps.

The guys grabbed their baseball bats and Barbara and I had our pepper spray ready to use when a guy just came out of the bushes.

He look clean cut with a jacket and blue jeans.

What are you guys doing out here?

We all looked at him and I replied — camping! ?

Well, it not safe here- .he screamed.

Why do you say that? Mike asked.

Just take my word for it !

You had better come stay at my place till day light. Trust me I’ve lived here all my life, he said.

There was something in his voice and eyes that hinted that he knew what he was talking about.

We looked at each other in surprise.

What do you say guys? Jeff asked.

Jeff looked at our frighten faces and turn to the stranger and

turned to the stranger and said loudly — I think you have scared us enough that we will come with you to your place.

We took down the tents while our new friend kept looking around like he expected something to jump out of the woods at any moment.

The log cabin wasn’t too far from where we had camped. It seemed strange I didn’t see it before.

We went inside.

It was nicely and cozy with early American furniture.

There were three bedrooms so the guys took one and Barbara and I took the other.

Only I couldn’t sleep so

I got up and went out on the porch where our host was sitting in a rocking chair rocking back and forward with a bat in his hands.

He looked like he was stand guard.

As soon as I sat down in the other rocking chair he jumped up and began walking toward the woods.

Then I saw what he was walking toward. It was tall with shape of a man but it was too big.

I gasp!

I was so frighten i couldn’t move.

Out host wasn’t afraid. He went toward it and it ran away!

He came back to me and asked if I was okay?

I could only nod my head.

Why don’t you go back to bed. It won’t be back tonight and I’ll be watching. So don’t worry- oh I think best not to tell the others.

Okay! I said.

I went in the bedroom and pulled the cover over my head. I finally calmed myself down . I could see our host from the bedroom as

he stood looking out the window not moving.

I was so tired my eyes lids felt heavy and before I knew it - I was fast asleep.

The next morning I didn’t tell anyone about what I saw for pretty sure they wouldn’t believe me anyway. We thanked our host and got in our car and left.

I waved bye to him and he smiled at me knowing I was the only one who knew how he had protected us from whatever that was lurking in the woods.

What I didn’t understand was why he still stayed there.

We were getting low on gas and stopped at a gas station.

Barbara and I went inside to pay for the gas and get some snacks.

We were just talking about how nice of that stranger was to offer his cabin to us when the clerk heard us and interrupted us—

What place are you talking about? she asked.

There was a cabin but it burned down years ago and the owner, a nice young man, just disappeared never to be seen again.

We stood there with our mouths hanging over and then quickly paid for our gas and told the guys —let’s go!

Barbara drove like a mad person until we were far away from the woods.

Jeff took my hand and held it-

Honey what’s wrong?

I looked at him and smiled - nothing not a thing now that I’m with you!

I never told anyone about what I saw but

We decided that we would just go out for dinner from that time on rather than camping to celebrate our quarterly issued magazine,

Only one exception was when Jeff and I tied the knot in a pine forest.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.