Humans logo

Escape from the Land of the Taliban's Deadly Terror: A True Story of Courage and Survival.

I knew that I had to find a way to escape before they found me and forced me into marriage or into becoming a sex slave.

By Alain SaamegoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Escape from the Land of the Taliban's Deadly Terror: A True Story of Courage and Survival.
Photo by Alexandru Zdrobău on Unsplash

I am an Afghan woman, and I have just completed a harrowing journey from my home country to Pakistan. The Taliban is everywhere in Afghanistan, and it is not safe for a woman to be on the streets alone. I knew that I had to find a way to escape before they found me and forced me into marriage or into becoming a sex slave.

By Wanman uthmaniyyah on Unsplash

The Taliban often force young girls into marriage, or into becoming sex slaves. This is done in order to keep the girls from going to school, and to keep them under the Taliban's control. The girls are often raped and beaten, and sometimes even killed, if they do not comply with the Taliban's demands.

By Joel Heard on Unsplash

I was able to bribe a taxi driver to take me to the border. The drive was long and dangerous, and we were constantly stopped by the Taliban. They would typically stop taxis trying to smuggle people out of Afghanistan and search the passengers and the vehicle for weapons or other contraband.

They may also ask the passengers for identification and proof of their destination. If the passengers are unable to provide satisfactory documentation or are suspected of being affiliated with another insurgent group, they may be detained or even killed. They may also arrest the driver and confiscate the taxi.

Finally, we made it to the border. I was so relieved. But then I realised that I was in even more danger now.

The Afghanistan - Pakistan border is an extremely dangerous and volatile region for women. Many women face dangers from the Taliban, as well as other militant groups, from Pakistani and Afghan military forces. The Taliban has been known to kidnap and rape women, and to force them to wear burqas.

Militant groups also often target women for violence and intimidation. Pakistani and Afghan military forces have been known to rape women, and to arrest and detain women without cause. The border region is also rife with criminal activity, including kidnapping, human trafficking, and sexual assault. Women crossing the border region face a very high risk of gender-based violence.

I was lucky enough to find a smuggler who was willing to help me cross the border. He was a dangerous man, and I was terrified the whole time. But I knew that I had no other choice. I had to find a way to safety.

Smugglers are an integral part of the Afghan/Pakistan border region, facilitating trade and movement of people and goods between the two countries.

They operate in a largely unregulated and informal economy, and play an important role in keeping the region's economy afloat. Smugglers operate a wide range of businesses, from transporting goods on foot or by donkey, to operating small boats or trucks along the border.

They often have close ties to local authorities, who turn a blind eye to their activities in exchange for bribes. Smugglers also play an important role in helping people cross the border, whether it is to escape violence or to find work in a different country. They often charge high prices, but the risks they take are often worth it for the people who need to cross the border.

Finally, we made it to Pakistan. I was so happy to be free, but I knew that I was not safe yet. I had to find a way to get to a safe place where I could rebuild my life.

I am now in a safe place, living in a refugee camp. But I know that I am not safe here either. The Taliban is everywhere, and they will not stop until they have found me. I am terrified for my life, but I am also determined to survive. I am going to keep fighting, and I am going to find a way to escape to a safe place where I can be safe and free.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Alain Saamego

Software engineer , Writer and Content Strategist at Selfgrow.co.uk

I'm a technology enthusiast, and I love learning about upcoming technologies. I also enjoy teaching and answering questions about new technologies.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.