Humans logo

Driving In North Carolina

Have you ever heard of a turn signal???

By Thoughts Of RiellePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Did That Seriously Just Happen???

Hey y'all! Let me just tell you, I LOVE driving in North Carolina. The speed limit is mainly a suggestion, as the flow of traffic moves a lot faster most of the time. However, there are a bunch other things that drive me crazy while I'm cruising down the highway.

For example; some drivers aren't aware their turns are "Lane Splitting". Others aren't aware they can press a touch harder on the gas pedal. There is always something new to complain about later. Especially when waiting in a Starbucks drive through line, that is stretched out into the street. But, I will get to that later. It's AMAZING how many times I've encountered "cutters".

When I first got here, it seemed like everyone drove in unison. As the days passed, I realized there were so many fucking contemptible people here. I've had days where people will cut me off in the middle of an intersection. That includes turns. It's sort of alarming how many people are so careless when they drive. A shoulder check is a shoulder check for a reason. There is an existing, two worded term called "Blind Spot". It's kind of important.

I have also encountered those who drive UNDER the freaking speed limit!!! I want to fucking pull my hair out, every time I am stuck behind someone driving miss daisy, and I can never get over as everyone is driving ABOVE the speed limit! Side Note: I tried not to curse, but "it isn't in my blood". *Da Dum Tsk*

Then there is the fucking "cutters". The people who will experience the wrath of Karma, for cutting someone off just to get your coffee somewhat faster. What's shitty, is that you have to talk yourself down from flipping shit, because it is early in the morning. You feel like you haven't slept, and you're sore all over. You have to ask yourself, "Is It Worth It"? Will I let this ruin my day? Maybe just until I have my beverage in hand. Or when the caffeine settles in my system. Possibly I will use that frustration as the energy to get through my day. Who knows at this point? I never do.

Not to mention those days you have a "win", and they act like you're in the wrong when you just kept your space in line. I had one of those. Honked annoyingly before I got to the speaker. Then words were exchanged. It was soooo ridiculous. Or the time I was at Starbucks where if the line was too long, we were in the street. I was in the street, with my turn signal ON; and this girl just drives up as soon as the line started moving, and took my spot. I didn't honk, but now I kind of wished I had. She tried so hard not to look at me, but you can always tell when someone is aware of you. Body language is a give away. LOL

I have a love/hate relationship with driving here, but let me tell you. I do really enjoy that the highway is basically the main road to get anywhere, and that the median flow of traffic is 70-80 miles per hour. Sometimes it won't go passed 70. Which is always a good cruising speed, whereas not to piss anyone off in the right lane by going too slow. However, street signs are a different story. But I will save that for another time.

Bottom line is. The majority of drivers here kind of suck. Although the positive outweighs the negative. So that's something. haha

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Thoughts Of Rielle

Hey! Rielle Here! I started this profile to see if I'm as good at writing, as I think I am. I hope what I have to say interests many of you, and you enjoy what you read. I hope I can shed perspective on many topics, as many cloud my brain!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.