Humans logo

Driftwood

Word Play

By AmDevLPPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

A boring day in literature class again. Outside a two birds are chirping jumping from branch to branch. A man sit watching them play, wishing he sat closer to the window.

(Sigh I much rather be a bird flying about, then stuck in this class today.) The Professor was once again going on a literary tangent. This time the topic is expressions.

“ Words give us the power to express who we are. Why don’t we all take turns naming our inner selves. Who want to start?” He pauses for a moment. “No Volunteers? Okay I’ll choose. Um, you.”

A Shy girls voice. “Spring, I like fresh and new things.”

(And I like anywhere but here.)

“Not Bad. Okay Now you.” He points to a boy in the back.

A confident but casual voice. “ The river, I go where I want and carry everything with me.”

“That very good.”

(Yeah, that is pretty good.)

“How about you?” He points to a girl by the window.

And arrogant flirty voice. “ Flare, it need no explanation.”

(I would strongly disagree with that.)

The class cheers to her confident and applause.

“Well, I guess it’s more fun if we ponder the meaning. It gives us a reason to probe and engage with each other more.” The Professor claps his hands once. “Okay just one more. How about you?”

(Finally, Just two minutes left.) He observes the clock counting each second that pass.

“Hello?”

A fellow student nudges me. “Hey he’s talking to you?”

I turn my head to see the teachers annoyed expression. “Were you talking to me?”

His frown deepens. “ I think he just told you so. Right?”

“I think it’s better if you pick someone else.” The snickers at my comment. (It no joke. I really had no interest in the topic.)

“It’s not up for debate. Let’s here your answer.”

“ Driftwood.” The class erupts into laughter.

“ I guess that’s what I get for making the silent one speak. A smart ass answer.” The alarm end of the lecture. “I want a three-page report on how the expression of words impact your life. As for you I’ll let you off since it’s Friday. All of you go enjoy your weekend.”

I slowly gather my things then saunter out of class. Unaware of the pair of eyes following my exit from room.

“ Damn! I missed it again.” I watch as the bus turned around the next block. “Time!” (It’s 5:15 if I hurry I can change at home and maybe squeeze out some time buy a quick bite to eat. I’ll have to wait until after my shift for a real meal. I swear if this course weren’t require for graduation-)

“Hey, Driftwood!” Intrudes a familiar males voice.

( Shit! I didn’t even hear this guy roll up with this loud thing. I have to admit is it’s a nice looking bike.) “ What do you want ? I’m in a hurry. I don’t have time to talk.”

“ Call me Jay. You said your in a hurry. Do you want a ride?” He pat the back of is ride. “ Plenty of room for two?”

(His offer seems harmless enough, but something about the smirk made my nerves run to high alert.) “Thanks for the offer but I’m fine. It’s not that far.”

Jay’s devilish smile now reach his laughing eyes. “ I can see it’s far enough to need the bus.” He held out a helmet. “Get on. Save your legs the work. Tell me where and you’ll be there in no time.”

The helmet was a good fit. (I guess a quick ride will be fine.) “Thanks, but stop calling me ‘Driftwood’. It’s not funny.”

“Okay, okay don’t be mad.” Jay revs up his motorbike then they were off.”

The three story red brick build sat in the middle of the block with and old flower shop. “ Don’t you ever get tire of the flower.”

“ No it’s relaxing, especially on spring nights.” Driftwood hands back the helmet. “ Thanks.”

“Anytime. See you around ‘Driftwood’.”

“Hey! I -”

“Then what else should I call you?” He cut him off. Jay couldn’t hide his amusement. “ I need a name if you’re not Driftwood then who are you?”

“ I am driftwood. But my name is Mack.”

“Okay Mack. Nice getting to know you.” He waves quickly. “Okay I’m going.” (Just for now.)

The weekend had come and went, but despite that it was Monday. The whole campus was lively. Their campus called it “Job Seek Week”. Senior and Junior year student search for open position in companies and leave their resumes with the representatives. This job fair is even more competitive in the second semester. The Juniors are seeking internship not only for the semester but possibly another intern position for the summer. Senior are hoping for a internship and a possible position after graduation. This causes the Senior to become… Well, a little more determined.

“ I told you I wanted that spot and you have the nerve to apply for it behind my back.” A student shouts.

“Hey, it’s dog eats dog man. You fight for your spot in the world. That the law of the jungle.” Shouts the second.

“Come here you rotten bastard.” The first student grab the other by shirt collar. “‘Law of the Jungle’, huh. Well, here is the sequel ‘Tragedy of the Jungle’.” Fist flies.

“Not again.” Mack looks up to see the two fellows wrestling around on the grass lawn. He sighs then stood to pack his stuff. That the third one today. (Jeez! Why the stench of desperation so ripe today.) “I ‘m out.”

“Hey!” A voice call out before tapping him on the back.

The tap felt more like a shove. Mack whips around. “What do you want?” That guy had only about couple inches over about six-foot to my five-ten. The real issue is brawn. He has a lot more, like a box of protein bars for breakfast, work out 3 hours 6 days a week more.

“I heard that your name is Mack.”

“So.” He gave the guy a once over. (The random dude looks way too full of himself.)

“ So there are rumors that a few tech companies have their eyes on you. Major Companies like ‘Time Keep’ seems to want you too. I’m generous, so I’ll let you apply to a few of them but Time Keep is of limits. So drop any hope you have right here.”

Mack chuckles. “Why? Why should?” His eyes spot two guys hanging back keeping watch for him.

“For a smart guy you seem kinda slow. What I mean is-”

“I know exactly what you mean.” All humor completely lost from his tone replace with harsh bluntness. “I’m asking why? Why the hell would I give up any opportunity I may have, because of a word from a useless ass like you? Ordering me around is generous, if you feel your chances suck so much you should have begged instead.”

The bully rushes Mack. Grasp him by his shirt, pulling him in. “You little punk! Do you have a death wish.”

(The shirt thing again? ) Annoyance follow by rage fills his eyes. “Oh! I have a death wish alright, but it’s not mine. OUT OF MY FACE!” BAM! He shoots out the first Punch.

literature
Like

About the Creator

AmDevLP

I am an Independent Publlisher/Author. I write Online fiction novels and e-books. I have a I have an e-book on amazon and drivethru fiction. I also have a chapter novel on Gumroad.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.