Humans logo

Don't Control Me

let's talk about controlling exes

By L.D. Malachite Published 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Don't Control Me
Photo by Henri Pham on Unsplash

He provided me a dull pang of fear at the concept of sexual gratification, it had been years since he was stimulating company, leaving me to wonder if I should ever be amused by him again. His once bright shine as he pulled me from the arms of the man I feared yet gratified lustlessly, now faded to the dullness of tarnished silver. I have often wondered if what he instilled in me was ever good for me, sex repulsed as I was, despite my self gratifying nature.

He gave me bored conversations and unimpressive attempts to prove his worth, unable to do simple tasks beyond that of a T.V. screen. The ring I wore on my finger gave me more fond thoughts of his mother and sister he hated so much, as opposed to thoughts of my dwindling love for the boy. I felt tricked by my own brain as I had a large fondness for him throughout High School, I had an idea of him so far from the reality. He was not overly handsome as he was, he was not particularly talented, nor bright. He had a complete lack of motivation, and seemed utterly okay with living in such a stagnant way.

I hope only that he has changed, perhaps grown to understand that to keep hold of a love, it must be maintained, hope he had grown to be something other than a detriment to society and the women that surround him. He holds a great anger for his sisters and mother, who have tried oh so hard to aid him in growth. He may have been a shining star as a teen, but he has seemingly not grown since then.

I loved him greatly, but did not realize how controlled and influenced I was by his limited scope on life. I could not wear heels, for fear I would be taller than him, could not wear short skirts, or frankly, anything revealing. I am a naturally outgoing person, and resented the level of friends I was removed from at his hand.

I find myself in my current relationship feeling as though I have stumbled upon an oasis in a desert of disinterest. It feels as though I have found the vacation I never knew daily life could allot. I am allowed to do as I please, speak to who I please. I am not removed from a friend for them simply having feelings for me, it is recognized, and respected that nothing will come of it.

I am surprised at how freeing this has been, I have felt my lungs fill more lightly, as though the crushing weight of my past may stay in the past. I have found a certain blissful stability in my new life, that I never wish to leave. Life has found me in bound following my dreams as opposed to worrying if my every action could be taken as insult.

I have found myself leaping from a life filled with self-doubt and stagnancy into a life where I am allowed to run after my every dream with support and love. I have found myself as a vocalist in a music project, something my ex would have laughed in the face of seeing as he thought himself the most talented of singers despite the evidence to the contrary. I have found myself writing again, a task I take great joy in, however did not indulge for over a decade. Standards of living have raised like a phoenix from it's ashes, something I had assumed to never regain. I have found myself happy for quite possibly the first time in this long, eventful life.

breakups
2

About the Creator

L.D. Malachite

L.D.Malachite is an author from California who specializes in Horror, and psychological explorations on trauma.

All stories published here are first drafts which will be later published as books.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.