Humans logo

Discovery Lane

The Untold Story of William Lockhead

By Melanie GarrettPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

“Not every man has a purpose” he screamed cradling his eye in the palms of his hands. “Not every man has a purpose, I tell you!” dishevelled by the reminder that his 40th birthday was just a couple days away.

It has been years now, since William’s family had passed away. Nothing left but the reminder of what once was happiness. Nothing ever seemed to go right for William and losing his family just seemed to be a reminder of that. Every job he went for never seemed to work out. His partners never seemed to stay. And life itself, seemed so easily disappointing.

“What’s the point” he thought to himself. I have no money to my name. I have no family to come home to. I have no one to love or someone to love me. I’m lonely, broke and aging. Is this really what life planned for me? Am I really worth this space?

“Maybe I’ll help existence out.” He thought. Maybe I’ll help it find space for someone who deserves to be here, for someone who has a purpose. He looked up the sky, tears filling his eyes “This is it. I have nothing to live for anymore. I’m going to jump.”

Shaking with the fear of death he latched both hands onto the side of the bridge. Looking down at the moon’s reflection as is shone upon the lake. He began lifting one leg over when he slipped and fell back to the ground. There was nothing to slip on he thought to himself all shaken up. I was just standing, how did that happen. He looked over and saw a little black book engraved in gold writing on the cover “The Untold Story of William Lockhead.” He gasped in utter shock. As he extended his hand out to grab the book.

Nestling his back against the side of the bridge he opened the book to the first page.

Welcome William, it’s been a while now since you’ve been happy. This is something that has concerned me very much. You say you are alone, yet you still talk to me. You ask me whether you are worthy of space, when I’ve granted you it. You’ve asked for my opinion, so here it is. If life isn’t worth living in 24 hours, I will not stop you from taking it. But if something in you wants to see what 24 hours can do, meet me at 1111 discovery lane. At 11:11am. I hope to see you there.

William began pinching himself to make sure what he was seeing was real. He then stood up with the book in hand staring up at the moon and the fate that was so divinely intervened. “I may not know a lot about life and purposes, but I’m willing to take 24 hours to find out more” he thought.

11:11am waiting patiently at the corner of Discovery and Broadview. 1111 Discovery she said right, William thought as he quickly checked the pages. It says 1111 Discovery, she should be here soon.

11:33am…”Where is she” William thought. “She’s wasting my time! She was on time yesterday” he thought annoyed.

11:44am “I’m not doing this anymore!” I’m not waiting for someone who doesn’t respect my time! He muttered utterly infuriated. He looked down at the book as the wind caught its edges opening to the next page.

Funny thing about time isn’t it, William! We only care about it when we loose it. We only count it when we expect it. But we don’t value it when we have it. You see William, yesterday you were willing to give it back to me. Today, you sit annoyed that I wasted the very thing you were ready to give up. But this isn’t about shame, it is rather the opposite. You see son, some individuals only value time when it’s gone. This is what it means to be stuck in the past. While others let it pass, taking the future for granted. But very few value it as they have it. Does that make sense?

“I think so” William said. What you are trying to say is that, if we valued time more of us would know what it means to be in the present is that correct?

In other words, yes. If individuals valued time, you wouldn’t waste it. Well done William, I’m very proud of you. Meet me at the top of mount Clear Now at 12:33pm. See you soon.

“12:33pm” William exclaimed! That’s 20-30mins away by car!!! William quickly waved down a taxi and asked the driver to drive him as fast as he could to mount Clear. The driver tipped his hat and said he would do his best but with recent construction he wasn’t sure he’d make it by 12:33pm.

William sat anxiously in the back seat checking every 5 minutes to make sure he wasn’t running late. “12:22pm we are cutting it tight” William thought. How close are we? He anxiously asked the driver. “About 10 minutes give or take” said the driver. I’’m not going to be on time! He screamed. Can you hurry it up? He asked. I’m doing my best said the driver unfortunately I can’t get around these delays! 12:33pm we are here! Said the driver. Enjoy mount Clear now!

William jumped out of the cab and ran to the bench at the top to take a seat. He pulled the book out from his pocket and glanced down to see if anything new was on the pages.

How was the drive William? A nice fellow drove you here, did you happen to catch his name?

I didn’t said William I was so focused on making sure I got here on time!

Oh that’s too bad he was a really nice fellow. Did you see that amazing Golden Buddha they set up, you should have passed it on your drive up here!

I didn’t said William, I didn’t even look out the window!

Crazy how sometimes we are so focused on the destination that we completely miss the beauty of the trip. Isn’t it! It’s kind of like life when you think about it William. So many people focus on getting married, buying houses, getting rich, but very few enjoy the road beforehand. Most people will miss the Buddha. Most people won’t get the name of their cab driver or take the time to get to know them. Most people won’t enjoy the things they have, for they yearn for the things they think will bring them more joy.

“I see what you mean” said William. I was so focused on the things that I didn’t have that I couldn’t see the beauty in the things I did.

We’ve got a smart one! Lol You probably didn’t think I would use LOL did you. That’s the thing about me, I’m likely very different from the perception you’ve sculpted of me. But that’s a conversation for another time.

Alright Will, I think we are on a nickname basis wouldn’t you say?

Yes LOL Will laughed. Something he hadn’t done in a really long time.

222pm meet me at the swing set in Tiffany Park. No need to rush.

See you then! William smirked as he closed up he booked and looked out at the view. All this time I’ve lived 20-30mins away from this spectacular mountain and not once had I taken the time to come see it. Guess amazing things do happened he thought. Placing his book down beside him.

As he called the Taxi company he asked for the same driver who dropped him off. Pulling up he got into the cab and greeted the driver yet again. I’m sorry I didn’t have a chance to talk last time, what’s your name? No problem the driver said, most people are in a rush! My name is Gary! Gary Fletcher. Pleasure to meet you Gary Fletcher! What brings you to Moonstone? Have you always lived here? William asked. I moved to Moonstone to help my family he said. My daughters been sick with cancer and we need 20,000 to pay for her next treatment. We are at Tiffany park sir! Wow time flew by William thought 2:22pm already! How could we already be there. He thanked the cab driver and gave him his card to have coffee sometime.

William walked over to the swing set and sat down in the middle of a swing. He pulled out the book and opened the page.

Dare to swing?

William laughed and placed the book down on the ground. He latched both hands to the side of the swing and launched his feet backwards. As the swing started to move William was overwhelmed with joy. He began laughing and swinging until a couple minutes had passed. He jumped off the swing and slowly walked back to pick up the book.

Fun wasn’t it?

I haven’t done that since I was a kid! William laughed.

Exactly, that's young William! We often forget about the little things that bring us the most joy. We stop dancing, stop swinging, stop playing at a certain age. It’s not that we can’t, it is that we don’t think it correct to do so anymore. We give up the things we love as we move in to a more serious age. But parenting doesn’t have to be boring, nor does having an office job need to be drab. When you lose the joy in life, you lose your passion. And that is life’s purpose.

WAIT!!! JOY is life’s purpose? William screamed! I thought it was some mission or some job or some duty you wanted for us.

I’ve never wanted you to do or be anything William. All I’ve ever wanted is for you to feel the love I have for you. For you to know the truth I know about you. And for you to love, see and feel the experience I’ve created for you. I do not expect anything of you.

You don’t expect me to do anything?

No and I will love unconditionally through whatever you choose to do.

If I rob a bank, you are still going to love me?

Yes.

If I end my life, are you still going to love me?

Yes, William. My sadness in you ending your life would be in you not truly seeing the magnificence of what I know you to be. I will not shame you, nor blame you, nor love you any less. For that is unconditional love and that is all that we truly are.

You’ve shown me a lot today that I’ve never thought about in the 40 years I’ve been on this planet. I’ve experienced more joy than I have in the past 20 years. Am I always going to be able to talk to you?

You can always talk just like you did before and if you look in your heart I’ll be there too. One last thing before I go. I think you’ll know what to do with this….

20,000 appeared before him in between the pages of the black book. He smiled, pulled the business card out of his pocket and said “Thank you. I know exactly what to do with this" William exclaimed.

William looked down at the book and smiled. "One more question before you leave. Who are you?" I'm whoever you need be to be she responded. Good luck William.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Melanie Garrett

Every story has a beginning and an end the only difference is how we choose to write it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.