Humans logo

Dear Husband

notes to the one I love.

By Hannah BPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4
Dear Husband
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

dear husband,

if you leave your wet towel beside the bed one more time, I swear to god, this time I am not picking it up. That thing could start to grow mushrooms on it, attract various insects, and emit an odour that can only be described as "swampy", and I still won't do it this time. You have to learn. You have to see the consequences of these actions. I will not ask again.

but this time, I did pick it up. You have a fresh one hanging on your hook in the bathroom. I may have used it to dry my hands this morning when I was mad at you, but it will dry before you're home... because it's hanging up where it can dry. where it belongs. as an example.

love, me.

dear husband,

I was just wondering what you'll be bringing home for dinner tonight. I do not want to be tasked with picking what we eat, however, as you know, I do have varying opinions on all of your regular top choices. I would like to inform you that due to hormonal influence, these opinions have shifted today in favour of deep-fried foods. Choose wisely. But please tell me what you've chosen. If I don't like it, we will start over.

love, me.

dear husband,

it has come to my attention you have been letting the child that we created have sips of sugary drinks when I am not looking. he ratted you out accidentally by very clearly pronouncing the words "fruit punch" and pointing at your water bottle, which, upon investigation was still full of fruit punch. I ask that you please take over all toddler tooth brushing duties from now on and see just how much extra sugar you would like to have to brush away while stampede wrestling him each night.

it has also come to my attention that you were listening to Machine Gun Kelly in the car with our 1-year-old son.

that's actually pretty rad, he was fist-pumping to it when I put it on today. I loved it. he doesn't speak English. but he apparently speaks COOLNESS.

love, me.

. . .

dear husband,

it's weird that you're not here every night with me and the baby while this strange health apocalypse seems to be sweeping the nation faster than I ever thought possible. it's a strange world wondering how to stay safe and protect our baby when you're far away. it's even more strange that where you are it's as if no one has heard that this pandemic is here already. people keep saying that they think marriage counsellors are going to be busy when people are stuck in their houses fighting.

I miss your wet towels and bad pizza choices and stupid cups of fruit punch. I'd love to fight with you about them in marriage counselling and stick this note to your forehead. it's going on your nightstand instead, for when you're back.

love, me.

dear husband,

thank you. I wish I could say it more often or in a way that made it mean something more. It's incredible to me how often I am told that you being away must be hard on our son and on me, but not on you. Thank you for sacrificing your precious time, your health, and your energy for us to live a comfortable life. Thank you for sometimes sacrificing happiness for money, as wrong as it feels.

thank you for listening to me rant about my workday as you fall asleep in your 8 o'clock dinners.

thank you for always video calling our son to say goodnight.

thank you for wearing a mask even though some of the people you work around call you names and make fun of you.

thank you for making me feel beautiful no matter what quarantine look I happen to be sporting. sidenote: did you like the business casual (blazer on nightgown with strappy sandals) outfit from our last call? I do think some chunky jewellery would take it up a notch.

thank you for believing in the strength I didn't even know had. and thank you for not telling me "it'll all be fine" when I was afraid of the virus. thank you for taking my feelings seriously.

thank you for reminding me that I am a good mom and doing the best I can for our son. thank you for pointing out the things that show us he is happy and healthy as a reminder that we are growing a pretty awesome human.

thank you for making me feel like we have a normal marriage, even in the middle of a pandemic, our first year as parents, and most of our time spent together being over the phone. I know it's not going to be like this forever. One day we'll all be together every day forever.

love, me.

...

dear husband,

it's been 8 days since you've been home. we're so glad you're here. we're so grateful for your hugs, your love, and your time. we love hearing your laugh in person.

and I'm pretty sure there's a frog living in your towel.

love, me.

marriage
4

About the Creator

Hannah B

Mom, self proclaimed funny girl, and publicly proclaimed "piece of work".

Lover and writer of fiction and non-fiction alike and hoping you enjoy my attempts at writing either.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.