Humans logo

Dear 2020

A personal letter to 2020

By Virag DombayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
A personal letter to 2020

Dear 2020,

I’m writing this letter addressed to you as dear but you haven’t always been ‘dear’ to me this year. In January, you tore my heart out of my chest and squeezed as hard as you could. In February, March, April, May and June, you sat and watched me fall apart over and over again and the only hand you could lend me was time. During these months, I re-discovered my strength and my worth with the help of an army of friends and family. No stronger army had I ever seen.

During these months, you locked me at home because of covid-19, trapped with memories of a love I no longer had, a mouth I could no longer kiss and a hand I could no longer hold. You trapped me with my thoughts and a lack of creative outlets to explore them in. These thoughts weren’t always of him, but were of the gigs you’d cancelled for me and about all of my teaching work that had been cancelled. Wherever I'd go, whatever room I'd sleep in or have my morning coffee in, these thoughts would follow me. I had no escape and too much time to think. A bright light during that experience was that I started my own acting teaching business and had seventeen students over lock down. It is a decision that is still fulfilling me immensely.

Then came July and August and my heart was ringing with hope. You started to re-open theatres, albeit gradually, work was starting up again and my heart was finally ready to move forward with the grief. I started laughing more, singing more and I started to get my glow back. I started going on dates and I was surprised at how easy it was for people to like me and fall for me. Because I had no closure after my break up, I assumed that I was a horrible, unlikeable, mean human being. So when I found out that I was likeable and that people were still attracted and being attracted to me, it was quite the revelation.

In September, I met someone who made my heart pirouette inside my chest and it hasn’t stopped pirouetting since. I found a new love, a new mouth to kiss and a new hand to hold. A new love that has been anything but treacherous. A new love who is sitting beside me on the couch as I’m writing this letter to you. A new love who has made all of the pain and the falling apart worth it and I can honestly say that I'd do it all over again to meet him.

Now, my heart is the strongest it’s ever been and the love I have for myself and those around me is stronger than ever. Now, I have gigs in 2021 to rehearse and look forward to. Now, I know that it is possibly to mend from a broken heart and to find a love even more special that the one that was lost. Now, I have a better understanding of who I am and what my needs are; not just in a romantic capacity but in every capacity there is.

2020, you made me laugh, weep and everything in between. You taught me the greatest lesson of all; when my heart is broken and I feel like I’ve fallen into a bottomless pit, there will always be a way out. I will be that way out.

Yours Truly,

Vee

____________________________________________________

If you're going through a break-up or a grieving process, here are some Vocal articles that I've written from my own experiences that may help you out:

Grief

A Bittersweet Break-Up Playlist

Dear January/February Me

Things Not To Do When You're Heartbroken

The Best Ted Talks About Heartbreak, Grief and Loss

Learning How to Live and Love After Heartbreak

breakups
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.