Humans logo

Dealing with ableist women part 1

mental health was affected

By Brandi DexterPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Dealing with ableist women part 1
Photo by Marek Studzinski on Unsplash

Sometimes I do not remember things straightway , it takes me a decade or a few years to remember them. I felt bullied. My mum thought this friend was a nice person. Let’s call her Bernadette. She gave me a best friend necklace in 2007. In my opinion I think best friend necklaces are a load of bullshit . I do not need to have a best friend. Bernadette was a quiet girl and excelled in religious studies at school. Her parents were nice people.

Half of the girls that you invited to parties in your childhood are not really friends.Even in high school too. Trust me you will realise this in adulthood. In adulthood you will learn more about friendships and how you want to be respected or treated.

Girls can betray you and backstab you at every turn. Now , it takes me a long time to warm up to women. I had a ex housemate of mine who was willing to write and sell her story to make a movie.I am going to call her Sam.She had a on and off boyfriend.She sees other guys then goes back to him.I realised it was like a open relationship and possibly had a sex addiction like a nymphomaniac.

He ex assistant showed me her characters she was about to put in the movie .She claimed in the document that he was mildly autistic and he was on the milder end of the spectrum.She believes that herself. One day this guy , let’s call him Zeus. Zeus was helping her do things . Sam claimed he was being rude over a fight they had. Zeus told him that the guy Sam was emailing wasn’t really into her.

Zeus walked downstairs to do some washing for her and Sam claimed that Zeus is autistic. Sam claimed that they are good people but say inappropriate things. I asked her “ how do you know he’s autistic ?” . In the response to my question she claimed that she went to a psychologist to talk about what type of autistic symptoms Zeus has and the psychologist said “ yes that’s autism “ . I do not know if she changed the story a bit to suit her own narrative.

But however you cannot go into a psychologist and advocate for someone’s else’s issues without their permission and go behind their backs.Talking about someone else when their issues has nothing to do with her is not a true ally would do .It’s not acceptable and it’s ableist. I asked him “ Can I ask if it’s true that you are autistic. Sam told me “ . He replied back “ no that is not true at all”. I do not care if he is autistic or not.

I believed Zeus after he told me. but Zeus is a grown 60 something man and he is entitled to go a psychologist or a psychiatrist to advocate for himself about his own concerns and issues. Not other people. Zeus was a man who was controlled Sam every day and he was her little minion. A very loyal follower. He wasn’t that type of person who was braver enough to say what’s on his mind.

He would usually go along what she says.She uses him like a pawn to do evil things. In October 2020 , I moved into Sam’s house after living with young women who had problems with her family. I think she couldn’t afford the house because she was working part time in hospitality. I remember going into the flatmates page and her ex assistant Bridget messaged me saying that I can have a meet and greet with her.

Sam made me feel warm and comfortable. I was seeing an ugly argument occur between herself and a young POC ( people of colour ) guy in his 20’s or 30’s.Claimed he did not pay his rent in time or haven’t paid in a couple of few weeks. Eventually after I moved out , I found out this wasn’t the case. The ex assistant eventually told me that he always paid rent and stayed there.Maybe she wanted more money from him than the intended rent price.Sam gave me a piece of chocolate and oranges.

She seemed like Angel at first and she was so warm. She shared her story of throat cancer and how she got the cancer.She was at college in the 80’s and was working at a pub . A lot of people were smoking around her and inhaled the chemicals even though she was not smoking.Was told she had a few weeks to live and lost her hair.Interesting story.

But always be careful about people sharing stories about cancer , because some may fake cancer to gain sympathy. I found it fishy that she told me that she had throat cancer , because my dad heard from his own family that his uncle’s wife in Ireland had throat cancer. I saw a photo of my granduncle’s wife dancing with her grand-daughter and she was so skinny.My father’s cousin said that she could not eat properly and only had to eat liquids to survive.

The cancer came back after loads of treatments. From my dad’s family recount was more clearer to see and more insightful compared to my ex housemates story. People with throat cancer may loose weight drastically and may not be able to eat properly . They also may need a voice box. So there was so missing bits into my ex housemate’s story . What really alarmed me about my ex housemate that she was so ableist even though she claimed that she worked with disabled children as a school teacher. What an hypocrite .

She thought of herself as so caring and loving . My mother had the wrong impression of her. She was an evil devil in the house . Her ex assistant Bridget had an idea what was really happening closed doors . She was terrible to me in the house and making ableist remarks via text message and face to face.She said “ I won’t be able to keep a job because of my disability “ , and she also said I was “ too much for her to be in the house “

.Questioned my medical status and my health problems. Kept constantly insulting me . I was so unhappy in the house , I wanted to be out of a toxic environment much earlier. My mum claimed its was a safe house to live in when it was not mentally.It was bad for my mental health. I was in toxic relationship with my housemate.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Brandi Dexter

Writing stories is a way to express my unfiltered feelings and advice.

Animal lover

Truth Seeker

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.