Humans logo

Dating in 2021

It's not for the weak!

By Kimmiekins4Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Ah dating, it's really never been fun in all honesty. Getting to know someone, the nerves, constantly wondering if someone really likes you. The list goes on. But back before dating apps took over the world at least you were able to meet people in person and get a feel for them. Now with dating apps I feel that it adds to the nervousness of dating. You never know if the person you are talking to is who they say they are, or hell if they are truly single or if they are cheating.

I feel that it also gives people the confience to say some very inapporiate things that they wouldn't normally say to someones face. The messages I recieve on dating apps, while sometimes entertaining, honestly make me lose faith that anyone takes being in a relationship seriously anymore. And the truth of the matter is most peoples outlook is why do I have to try very hard if I can message 100s of people and at least one will respond the way that I want them too.

I am always told by my married friends or friends that have been in long term relationships that they wish they were single because its not as easy as it seems to be in these relationships. Now don't get me wrong, no matter which side of the fence that you're on I know things aren't easy. But what I try to tell them is that even in your hard times at least you have your person.

Alot of my friends have been out of the game since dating apps first started coming around, and back then there was only a few. Now i feel like everytime I log on to tiktok or Instagram there is a new one. Then you get on there thinking its FREE, only to be told that you're going to have to pay monthly or yearly to use more of their services. I have paid for dating apps in the past, and its honestly no different in my opinion than if I just stayed on the free apps.

Don't get me wrong I know plenty of people that have had success stories on these apps, but I am not one of them LOL. I feel like I am doing something wrong, but I just think that I am meant to meet someone the old fashion way, or be a dog mom. Which at this point I have prepared myself for!

The last date that I went on from a dating site was a few years ago, and he got mad at me because I didnt want to go to a halloween house party with him after our dinner. Something just didnt feel right about him, and the situation in general. The conversation and the date wasn't the greatest, so I didnt feel like it needed to go any further. But he was trying to convince me anyway that he could to get me to go to this party with me. Luckly I was able to exit the situation safely, but he wasn't very happy. Since then I've talked to many people on these sites, but honestly that situation just really freaked me out.. so now I try to be more careful. Almost too careful LOL. We've also been in a pandemic so that isnt' helping either!

In conclution dating in this era sucks, and it's not for the weak! Or hell even the hopless romatics like me. Does anyone else feel like they just don't have success on dating apps or is it just me?

Thanks for letting me vent! and let me know your experinces rather they are success stories or otherwise through dating apps :)

dating
Like

About the Creator

Kimmiekins4

I am a very creative person. I love reading, writing, listening to music, watching movies and shows. Writing has always been a way for me to express my feelings and thoughts. I'm excited to write some of my stories here on Vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.