Humans logo

Darius and the D Hive

Yes, he cooks and so much more, we are all doing life together. How very special this is to me

By Sherry RiddickPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Darius and the D Hive
Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

It may seem like a life's journey. It is a nice moment in time. I am writing this because maybe some will better understand the loyal cousins (as we all refer to ourselves). It has only been 6 short years, but so much has happened in everyone's lives. I was on periscope one day, it was new so I was just thumbing through it. At the time it was like 6/7 people and how humble Darius was as I look back would say it will be nice if 35/40 people would join. He was so funny and I think he had finished or was about to finish his first cookbook, "Stories". I don't know if he knew how big that our creator was showing up. He would get so excited when a cookbook was sold. That's when I KNEW he was raised by his grandmother, so was I. My gram always taught me, no need to ever seek out greatness, it will find you. Greatness always recognizes the other. His joy brought me joy, every time because he was genuinely so surprised, hoping to sell 30 books. He lived in New Jersey, had hair, and wore black glasses. He was a combination of happiness, sweetness, confidence, peace, and love all wrapped up in one. I didn't realize his height or what a 6'4 man looked like. My sons are 6'10 and 6'4 but they are young men. When we finally met, he was massive to me and kinda scared me, but he was so gentle and kind. Then the infectious laugh, it felt just like home, like a long-lost brother, but that cooked amazingly. On the periscope app, we laughed, cruises, food tours, cried, cheered, went through sorrow, gained new cousins, new people joined, babies were born, cousins married and divorced, family members passed away, step class, peloton bike exercise, training, different cleansings, keto, vegan, operations, veneers, health issues, needing advice, boyfriends, girlfriends, wives, husbands, allergies and his gummies, hanging out enjoying each other, a family reunion every day, so many things and Darius' spirit bought all of this together. That is why when we say we are not new to this but true to this, it is honest. This whole group has grown more into a family; yes when new people join now and ask questions; we try to help unless they are too much then Darius steps in. I am thinking back to a few specifics. First are the fast food' prayers and the way he would say in your "skinny" son's J*sus name, am*n. Also in the pray*r, he asked our creator to remove the bacon off the back of his neck and that he wants to be so skinny when he turned to the side he would not be seen. My imagination is broad, when I thought of that picture, instantly I choked laughing. The next one when he drove to Atlanta and did not drive and hit something then had to have the tire repaired, next was when he shaved his hair off and would "as he said" tie his hair up. The phone calls were amazing especially with "Esther" and the moving truck people. So many more, I can honestly say, the only time I ever saw him upset is when he periscoped his aunt that had Alzheimer's and someone said something off the wall, Darius went in, that person had to cry. Another part of life together is I went back to school to get my degree, three of my other children graduated high school, and two to college, one is on her way in the fall. Also, Darius and the D Hive mean a lot to me because three years ago my daughter was killed. Darius made a specific scope for me, people were inboxing me to get on, but I couldn't. Although, I felt the love, hugs, donations. This was definitely my tribe! Right now, I am laughing just thinking about him in the store on the customer service microphone, or at a restaurant eating something foul, the faces. On work-cations, when deciding where to travel, not wanting to step foot in Europe, what do they have there? If the food is not good, just know that Darius will not be visiting, he said we do a different kind of travel. This has been a laugh down memory lane. I did not even write about some things, but my stomach hurts from laughing. If I did not think we were a family; someone gets it messed up, with food ingredients, needs to be dealt with and cracked on, Darius has it! One of the greatest things to me is the special bonds, sisterhoods that were created through this group. I am not going to specifically mention names, they know who they are. Did I mention that he was a very proud gay man, no? Oh, he is gay and I did not mention it because I only mind the business that pays me and his sexual preference does not pay. Today I look back and there are so many more great things that I did not discuss, but I must say that joining this group was one of my best decisions.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Sherry Riddick

I am many things. If someone tells you good or bad about me. Believe them, I only reciprocate the energy given. I will cut off any negativity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.