Humans logo

Crumbs

A Trail to Follow

By A. L. JobrailPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like

They sat around the conference table at Michaels & Smith’s firm. The other six grandchildren were eager to learn what we had inherited from our grandma.

“Good morning,” John Michaels greeted us. “Today, we read the last bequest of Marjorie Owens.”

They leaned forward almost salivating. Ann could practically see them rubbing their hands together in anticipation.

Ann missed her grandmother. The house and all its contents were of no consequence. She would gladly give it up all rights just to have her grandma back in her life again.

The lawyer droned on with all the legal rigamarole. Ann thought back to my last conversation with her two weeks ago.

“Dear, you must know you are my favorite.”

“Oh, Grandma. I bet you tell all of us that.”

“No, I know you truly love me and not all of this.” She gestures with her hands the house and its contents.

“I love you, Grandma. I am in no hurry to lose you to gain any of this.”

She patted my leg. “I know, dear. I know. I’m going to miss our little visits.”

“You will outlive me!”

“Shh, don’t wish that on me, child. I’m ready. I have lived a good life.”

“Ann…Ann. Are you listening?” John Michaels asked.

She shakes her head. “What? Yes, could you repeat that?”

“I read the will which divides the house and its contents between the other six.”

The other six stood up and with smirks on their face, they turned to leave the lawyer’s office.

“Oh, okay.” Ann stood up to follow the others.

“Ann?”

“Yes?”

“Could you wait a moment, please? I would like a word with you.”

John waited until only the two of them remained in the conference room. He motioned for her to take a seat. She looked at him, unsure of why he needed to talk with her in private.

“You know you were your grandmother’s favorite. She always spoke highly of you every time I met with her.”

“I miss her so much. That house and everything in it means nothing to me.”

“Yes, she told me. It’s also the reason she didn’t leave any of it to you.”

“I would rather have my grandmother back. I know I can’t.” Tears streamed down her cheeks. John walked over to the side table and brought back the box of tissues offering them to her. She pulled one tissue and dabbed her eyes, and took another, wadding them in her fist.

“She left a video for you.”

“For me? Why?”

“I can play it for you now if you like.”

“Yes, I would, please.”

John stepped over to the cabinet and opened its door. This revealed a television screen with a DVD player. He picked up the remote and pressed play. The DVD began to play. There she was. So full of life. Ann began to cry again. Only this time, it was tears of joy rather than sorrow. Her grandmother turned her head.

“Is this on? Can you hear me?”

A voice off-screen replied. “Yes, we can hear you. Your recording is in progress.:

“Hello, Ann. If you are viewing this, then I have reached the end of this long road of life. It’s been an adventure that I have enjoyed much. More so with all your love and visits with me.

I don’t want you to cry for me. Rest assured, I am happy wherever I am. You will always be with me as I will always be with you in your thoughts and heart.

John has a little black notebook for you. I have written you some messages over the past few weeks to remind you of our times together. It was such fun to do. Oh, the memories!

My dear child, I want you to live life to the fullest. Forget what others say and think of you. Enjoy every day. Find your joy and live it, whatever it is. Follow the lines and find the underlying treasure meant for you. I love you!” Her grandma blew a kiss and the recording ended.

“Would you like a moment to gather your thoughts?”

She nodded her head affirmatively. Ann took another tissue as the tears continued to cascade. John left the conference and informed the secretary not to allow anyone in until he said so.

John returned fifteen minutes later. He ejected the DVD and put it in a protective case. “She wanted you to have it.” He handed it to her. She passed her fingers over the DVD case and placed it in her purse.

“Thank you.” Ann stood to go.

“Wait, don’t forget the notebook. Marjorie had me put it in my safe until the reading of the will. She also asked me to tell you to guard it carefully and whatever you do, don’t let the other six see it.”

She gave him a puzzled look. “I’m not sure I understand why, but okay. Whatever she wants.”

John opened the safe and retrieved the notebook. He handed it to Ann. It was a small Moleskine - Marjorie’s favorite kind to use. She always carried one in her purse to jot down whatever she was thinking about at the moment to clear her head and concentrate on the conversation.

She had time to think on the short drive home. Why didn’t she want the others to know? Was she afraid that they would try to take the black notebook as well? There’s no unique design or artwork inside it. I’ll look at it when I arrive at the house.

She arrived home to find a package on her doorstep. It was from her favorite bakery. There was a note inside. Written in familiar penmanship was: Follow the crumbs. Enjoy! Love Grandma. Their special treat to enjoy with a glass of cold almond milk – dark chocolate cookies with pecans.

Follow the crumbs? She poured a glass of almond milk and put two of the cookies on a plate. Ann carried them into the living room and placed them on the table. After she sat in her preferred chair, she opened her purse and pulled out the black notebook. There still wasn’t anything that caught her attention as she quickly thumbed through the pages.

The first entry read: I remember us sitting in your living room to enjoy these cookies with milk. I savored every bite even more so the company. You would always check for crumbs around the floor, afraid there would be bugs if you didn’t.

Her eyes widened upon reading this. Could this be some kind of clue? She put the rest of the cookie on the plate and kneeled on the floor. She felt around the floor underneath her chair. Her hand touched something. Ann pulled it out to see what it was. It was a key! But to what? It isn’t mine. So, whose is it? What does it open? She looked at both sides. There was an inscription on one side. Love Grandma. Her lucky number fifty-six on the other. What? Ann smiled at the memory of them reading mini mysteries and trying to solve them together. Oh, Grandma! How I miss you so. I’m going to solve this mystery in memory of you.

Later that afternoon, the phone rang. It was the spa calling.

“Hello.”

“Good afternoon. This is Lisa. I’m calling to confirm your appointment for tomorrow.”

“I don’t understand. I didn’t make an appointment.”

“Your grandmother called and made the appointment. She said it was a surprise.”

“Yes, it sure is.”

“What time is the appointment?”

“It’s at 9 am.”

“Yes, I’ll be there.”

“Oh, there is a note here to bring your key.”

Ann smiles now that she knows. “I won’t forget.”

“See you tomorrow then.”

“Yes, thank you for calling. Bye for now.”

“Bye.”

Ann tucked the key and the little black notebook into her purse. She was ready for the morning!

Ann tossed and turned that night. Sleep evaded her. Finally, the alarm sounded. She hurried through her morning ritual and was ready before it was time to leave. The notebook. I wonder what it has for today.

The entry for today read: Memories of us discussing your plans for the future. You seemed to go from one thing to another until the last few months. Take a walk on the wild side and see.

At ten minutes before the hour, Ann arrived ready to see what her key would reveal.

She searched for number fifty-six. She found it! Her hand shook as she turned the key. There was a brochure from the local zoo. It had the name Mary on it with a phone number. Ann put it into her purse.

That afternoon Ann made the call to Mary. “Hello, Mary, this is Ann. My grandmother left me a brochure with your name and number on it.”

“Oh, yes. Your grandmother told me you would be calling me soon. We talked about the possibility of you doing an internship while you took the required courses to work here.”

“Oh! My grandmother knew that I wanted to work there and possibly have a career there.”

“Yes, come by my office tomorrow to discuss it. How about ten?”

“I’d love to. Thank you so much. See you then.”

“Bye for now.”

That evening Ann read the next entry: My dear, I hope that your meeting is bearable 😉.

Oh, Grandma! Such the jokester!

The next day Ann met with Mary. “it’s so nice to meet you, Mary.”

“It’s nice to meet you as well. Your grandmother spoke very highly of you. How is she?”

“She passed.”

“I’m so sorry.”

“Thank you.”

Mary took Ann on a tour of the zoo. Ann’s eyes lit up when they were in the penguin exhibit.

“Your grandmother was right.”

“How so?”

“She said you would love the penguins the most. I can see by your eyes that is true.”

“Yes, she used to take me to the penguin exhibit. We would spend so much time here. Then she would buy me souvenir penguins.”

“Let’s go to my office and discuss your possible career with us.”

They spent the next hour discussing her options. Ann had a lot to think about as she drove home. I want to work there so much. The classes are expensive, and even with financial aid, I can’t afford them.

She read the next entry in the black notebook upon arriving home: Fear not the future, my precious one. Look beyond what you see in the mirror and know you can do anything.

Ann ran upstairs and looked at the mirror in her room. Look beyond…She ran her hand along the edges and then behind it. She felt something taped to the back of the mirror. It was another key! This time it had the number 156.

She raced downstairs with the key and read the next entry: Our little jaunts to the bank were so much fun. Do you remember which one? She thought about it and remembered the name of the bank. The next day she took the key to the bank and showed her ID.

“Your grandmother secured this safety deposit box for you two years ago.”

“Do you have your key?”

“Yes, here it is.”

“I just need you to sign this card and make a copy of your ID. I can then take you back to give you access to your box.”

Ann gave her the ID and waited. What can be in the box?

The banker took her to sign in and leave her to view her box in privacy. Her hands shook as she opened the box. There were bundles of money. She counted them – twenty thousand! Just what she needed to complete the program for her new job!

I love you, Grandma! Thank you. I will treasure all the memories and keep this notebook as a reminder of our last adventure together.

family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.