Humans logo

Crayon Reveals Spiritual Reason Why His Success Is So Strange

Crayon gets honest

By Jide OkonjoPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian singer Crayon is celebrating the release of his debut studio album Trench to Triumph and just as the name suggests, the album takes us through a walk from Crayon's life in the trenches of Ojo to his life now as a global superstar. The journey has not been easy and has been met with so many up and downs. In fact, Crayon being in the position that he is now, successfully putting out an album is something he can still not fully believe because of his background.

During a new interview with The Native Magazine, Crayon opens up about the spiritual reason why his success is so strange to him. He speaks about how he is the first person to blow out of his area, and gives us an insight to the weird negative energy that surrounds the place he grew up in. Here's what Crayon had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Speaking about the success he's now experiencing, Crayon said:

CRAYON: Everything is going the way God has planned it. I feel amazing, and dropping the album while I’m on tour—it’s the most beautiful thing ever. It’s beautiful to see because I feel like God is the greatest scriptwriter. My career went from ten to five, to zero, to seven, to ten. Like, my career has just been like up-down, and now my trajectory is just up, up, up. Everything has been amazing because if you look at it from where I came from, asides my career, where I came from; from Orile to Ojo, from Ojo to Mavin, now to America, doing global shows, it’s been beautiful.

Speaking about growing up in Ojo with the seemingly negative spiritual energy that blocks anybody from blowing there, Crayon said:

CRAYON: I cannot count how many times we ran away from the police. If Police dey come like this, you just gats dey run first, because anybody wey dem see, they dey carry. Ojo is that crazy. In Ojo, when you’re planning something, you have to keep it to yourself until you actualise it. Let’s say tomorrow I want to go and buy Air Force-1, and I’m announcing it, you will not buy that Air Force-1 oh. Not because they are wishing you bad, or your friends don’t want you to buy, but something will happen. It’s the energy around that doesn’t want anybody to grow. I know how many artists and footballers have been there for years; I’m literally the first person to blow out of that area. It’s because I was stubborn. Stubborn to greatness; like, you have to be persistent. All die na die.

Hmm. That kain place, nawa! I'm so happy Crayon has at least been able to break such a generation curse on that land and finally find success. What do you think about what Crayon said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

If you want to follow me on alternative social media, I am now on Twitter and in the process of growing my account on there. So please, feel free to follow me on Twitter as well @JideOkonjo.

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.