Humans logo

Covid-19: The After Symptoms

What covid leaves behind

By Jay Dee QuimeraPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

When Covid was first mentioned, nobody really knew what it was. We knew it was a virus and that it was bad, but the what extent, it was unclear. And then the pandemic happened. It was chaos, people tried their best to not get sick and those who did ended up dying. Hospitals were at capacity, and some were even over capacity. Nobody knew what to do honestly and so many people lost a lot. The whole world had to go on lock-down just to control the virus from going crazy, yet some countries couldn't control the way people reacted and ended up causing more cases than ever. Those who were fortunate enough to just get sick and survive the virus, were never the same after. I can attest, since I got sick from Covid. When I first found out about the virus, I was scared, like any normal human was. I followed protocol and bought lots of masks and sanitizers and stayed home when I was told too. I always be careful when going on outings, but even those outings were limited and few. I did my best to be safe from Covid, and yet I still managed to get it back in November. Of course the symptoms for each person is completely different so I just wanted to talk about my symptoms specifically and hopefully it helps someone feel a little better about their symptoms if they have any. The main thing that tipped me off that I had Covid was that I had a headache for three days. It wasn't a normal headache though, it was one of those lingering headaches that you get when it's the day after having a migraine. It didn't hurt a lot, but it did hurt, and it lasted three days, even taking medicine or sleeping didn't help. After three days of a headache, I started to have shortness of breath. I couldn't shower with the water on hot because the steam made it difficult to breathe. Then my energy was just nonexistent. I could barely get out of bed, I had no strength to do anything and I was always tired and sleeping. I did not have a cough or get a fever or have body aches, which I considered lucky, but I did have the worst stomach pain ever. If I did not take stomach medicine, my stomach would be cramping to the point where I had to lay in fetal position. I also had the worse diarrhea as well. I couldn't push anything out, I had to wait for it to come out on it's own and when I did use the restroom, I felt as if my own energy was being drained as I was going to the restroom. At one point I almost passed out from the lack of energy. It lasted two weeks. After weeks I began to feel a bit normal. Not as normal as before, but my stomach wasn't hurting as much and I didn't have much diarrhea. It wasn't until two more weeks after that I started to notice the changes in my body. I had trouble breathing a lot, when before everything was fine with my breathing. I started to get random headaches, a lot more than before. And I realized that I could no longer eat certain foods. Because of Covid, I could no longer eat fried foods or raw fish. So no sushi, no fries, no poke, none of that. If I did eat that, I would get the covid symptoms all over again. They would last for a few days and then the symptoms would go away. If I didn't eat those types of food then everything was fine, but if I ate too much, I would be in pain. It's been 6 months since then and the symptoms are still here. No matter what I take, I still cannot eat those types of food. I tested it out multiple times and the results are still the same. Of course doctors and scientists are noticing that the symptoms are lasting for a long while for other survivors as well. Some say they last to at least a year max, 9 months minimum. Of course others have had worse symptoms and are struggling to live with the after effects. It is not an easy thing to have. Who knew the impact a virus would have. Always cover up and be safe out there.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Jay Dee Quimera

Hi! My name is Jessica and I've been writing for about three years now. I love anime and manga as well as a lot of fantasy and paranormal. I'm currently writing a novel. Follow @jaydee.writes!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.