Humans logo

Covid-19 Scare at The First Day of the Year 2021

Happy new (Covid) year 2021

By AHKPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Covid-19 Scare at The First Day of the Year 2021
Photo by Volodymyr Hryshchenko on Unsplash

Everyone around the globe is looking for a better 2021 as compared to the previous year. Covid-19 vaccines are coming to light and their administration to the general public has already started just before the end of 2020.

Besides, all these great things happening around me, I was tested for the Covid on the eve of the new year and my GP advised me to isolate till the final results.

I’ve been in isolation for the last 24 hours and it has allowed me to come up with the actual rethink of not only the year but also of the whole life. It was perfectly timed for this time of the year I believe.

Depressed, and Traumatized:

It wasn’t something to be absorbed easily. It left me depressed and traumatized due to not only the disease but of its timing. It had more impact on me than if I caught it on some other day. I’ve read stories about self-isolation and I was feeling the same yet it helped me as well.

A New Year Night Alone:

It doesn't mean that I was going to have a big party or something but a good family time with a cake and a happy welcome to the new year. But, this wasn’t meant to be this year. My kids and I had to spend the new year's night separately therefore, the celebrations were not as energetic as the kids wished for.

Mental Pressure:

Even though I’m kind of a person who usually spends time watching news or movies alone most of the time. I never felt like this before in my life, the burden of being put alone along with the pressure of the disease is considerable. Yes, it was indeed scary at the first wave, but we’ve been fighting the second wave more bravely. However, observing it from the outside is far easier than actually being put into it.

Fear of the Unseen:

Our mind process and reacts according to the information it has over matters. Covid-19 has so much diverse information about its mutation that one could not see for sure how it is going to work. The more we have been hearing about the new covid strain in the UK and around the globe. It’s making things complex since its beginning. It is kind of unseen to fight within PS or X Box.

What I am Doing:

Based on the suggestions of the loved ones, I’m trying to spend my isolation in some kind of normal way. I’ve been bombarded with the idea of high immunity foods to be helpful in the process. My GP has also advised me on certain medicines to get myself strong to fight it.

Watching television:

I’m kind of addicted to television news and sports, so it has been helping me to be indifferent to kinds of modes and information by keeping my mind busy.

Surfing social media:

Social media is also helping me in getting connected with my friends and to be aware of the latest happenings around, especially as it was a new year. It was pleasing to see the people enjoying loved ones and caring for each other.

Reading books:

I’m not fond of book reading. but, luckily in the latter part of the year 2020, I’ve been trying to read some books. It has helped me a lot as book reading is helpful for me in the process to spend time.

Taking sleep:

It was not something one can associate with someone who is experiencing such isolation. But, still, we’ve to take things along so I backed myself to taking good sleep to give my body time to repair itself and make me more strength to fight the threat.

Food:

I’m lucky to have a loving wife and beautiful kids. I’m quite thankful that the kids have understood the situation and responded very maturely considering their ages of 7 & 9. My wife has been looking after my food. We’re looking to adopt safe delivery to avoid any chances of disease travel back to the other parts of the house.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

AHK

Entrepreneur, Writer, Blogger, Banker & Father:

Let’s keep in touch https://ahk14.substack.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.