Humans logo

Covid-19, an unsuspecting wingman.

Finding a soulmate during this pandemic

By HC MoonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
First Place in Flashback Challenge
15
These photos were taken on her vintage Minolta camera weeks before South Korea went on lockdown

So, I have never written a piece up like this in my life but I was compelled by an ad on Instagram as I am sure some of you reading have. I immediately thought of this girl that I had met weeks before South Korea went into lockdown. This girl was weird and filled with such creative energy and the most unexpected part about her was how much of her I felt connected to on a level I had yet to experience. I have fallen in and out of love barely a handful of times and never has a love felt like this.

A random park we stumbled upon walking around the country side

These photos were taken on a two day trip before my work told me to self-quarantine. We knew we would have limited time to see each other but walking aimlessly around the country side felt timeless. To think that the reason we met was directly related to the pandemic beginning to scare the world. She explained to me weeks after we've already began to be romantic that the night I met her friends wouldn't have happened if this pandemic wasn't going to happen. She further explained that her roommate never made it to the university she was studying abroad from due to the covid-19 virus. She said she began to get very lonely in those weeks of solitude and despite her introversion she decided to go out. A social activity I later learn is not her forte but due to the stir-crazy atmosphere the world was in, she was compelled to come out and enjoy one of those infamous Seoul nights in the city.

I have been listening to Snoh Aalegra - Fool For you and Mac Miller - Soulmate on repeat since I met her.

I waited patiently for her to finish romanticizing the events that directly inspired her to come out the night we met because I too shared a similar set of events directly related to the pandemic. I had came to South Korea to teach English as many can learn is a great way to get a free ticket and accommodation to this beautiful country. The school I had a contract to work with was hours away from her university. Upon arriving to my school on the first day, they had explained to me they would be delaying the school open by about a month. It was purely coincidence that in that month I had made one of the few trips I would take to Seoul to get more tattoos and experience the nightlife in my home country I was so foreign to. There are many more coincidences I am leaving behind that played a catalyst to our souls finding each other. I digress only because I am getting shy as I think about all the fine details. I imagine one day when I get more comfortable sharing and writing in this format. I just want to cut straight to the point that without this pandemic our souls would 100% simply pass by each other.

We both have a love for photography and portraits. I never had as much pleasure taking photos of someone in my entire life.

This was not the only coincidences we shared though as I mentioned briefly. In the coming month leading up to my work beginning, we have discovered so many parallels in our childhood, dreams, hobbies, passions, and so on. I am a very social person and have met many like myself but none truly fit the way she had and as our country went into lockdown and my work informed me on staying quarantined in my small city. Our conversations on the phone grew longer and longer and I felt like I was in high school again. Late night phone calls that led nowhere but made the path to a brighter future more and more clearer.

She is a fashion major and told me this is how you model. "Tilt your head, keep your mouth slightly ajar, and seduce the lens with your eyes."

I don't know how to describe how I feel for this chick yet. I truly never felt this vulnerable this quickly. The world soulmate was always a joke to me but as of recently I have been paying attention to what defines a soulmate. There is not I am grateful about this horrible virus that has taken so many but oddly a bittersweet aversion I have created for myself in this rollercoaster of a year.

Thank you for reading,

Moon

love
15

About the Creator

HC Moon

a human being born in the year of the pig on a month named after the goddess of gods with a Leo moon. Simply looking to grow and learn through asking for and sharing stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.