Humans logo

Christmas love

Entwined destiny

By Sherry jacksonPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like

My uncle and aunt met me at the train station.

It was brutally cold for this time of year in Indiana but their welcoming arms made me feel warm and safe.

It was good to be home.

We drove in uncle Ted classic red truck. It was the kind you see on Xmas cards with the tree hanging in the back. He loved this old truck and I couldn’t image seeing him without it even though you could feel it hitting every bump in the road. No one complained cause we were together that was the most important thing!

They had raised me from a child when my mom married again and moved away to Europe and my dad was busy with his new family so It was here with them my mom’s sister and husband or boarding school. I choose my aunt and uncle.

Then after I graduating from college I got a job as a newspaper reporter in the city. Far enough away but not too far to say to myself I was an adult and independent.

Yet I couldn’t wait until my visit here brought back the joy of

the child in me when I

got back home.

I could see the happiness and their excitement when I came to visit especially at Xmas time.

The next day after my favorite breakfast of fried biscuits covered with cinnamon and served with apple butter, we all three went to look for a Xmas tree at Lewis’s Farm where all the folks in Mitchel Indians got their Xmas trees.

Our tradition was to go into the woods and chop down our Xmas tree. My aunt had surprised me and gave me some warm cozy boots, knowing we would be doing a lot of waking in the snow.

When we got out Uncle’s truck I saw Ed the owner standing with several workers around a barrel with flames coming from it.

It was the usual workers trying to keep warm, but then I noticed a younger fellow who well just didn’t fit!

He had on blue jeans a plaid shirt and cowboy boots but not just the usual kind you could see they were expensive expensive and also a lamb wool jacket .

His hair was smooth black and smoothed back from his olive tone face into a pony tail. Tall slim with broad shoulder and when he turned and saw me he looked me up and down in an admiring way.with his group twinkling black eyes.

He was very handsome!

He offered to help and he came along with us.

There were lots of young families with their children wanting them to experience actually cutting down their own Xmas tree.

You must be Edward, my aunt exclaimed.

I heard you were coming for the Holidays from your mom. Your mom and I have been friends for years She offered her hand and he took it

Oh this is my niece Jennifer.

She is visiting also, said my aunt as she pushed me forward.

He shook my aunt’s hand and offered his hand to mine.

I put my hand in his and it felt so natural and he held it for s little longer than necessary

.Really a pleasure to meet you all as he shook my uncle hand also.

My aunt went over to him

We going dr irate the tree tonight why don’t you come over and have some of Santa cookies and join in?

He looked at her in surprise then llooked at me

Why thank you I would love that!

He said as he looked me in the eye

Splendid! my aunt exclaimed .

See you around 9pm

I took in a long breath of the fresh scent of pine and heard the laughter of young ones running around in and out of trees and looked into his eyes and felt the joy of Xmas magic .He looked into my eyes and I could see he felt it too.. something wonderful was happening. I didn’t know what it was but it was a really good feeling.

Then my aunt stopped dead in her tracks and said “there it is!”

I looked where she was looking I saw the perfect triangular shaped tree about 6 feet tall seemingly just waiting

for us to find i

He helped my uncle cut down the massive tree and they put it in the back of the truck

I looked back as we were driving away and he was watching us and gave me a wave. I returned the smile and waved.

When we got home my aunt and I made cookies while my uncle watched t. And read the newspaper.

Aren’t their any nice young men in the city? She asked.

Auntie I’m not looking! I replied.

Well you don’t have to worry. the one for you will find you!

I smiled at her and no more was said about the subject.

When the doorbell ring I felt an excitement

that I had never felt before and found myself rushing to open the door.

He stood there at the entrance with the snow falling around him. We both stood there looking at each other until my aunt came over and told him to come in.

We had a wonderful time laughing decorating the tree and eating cookies. Then we heard music coming from outside. We all went to the door and it was a group of singers going door to door singing

Xmas carols.

It was enchanting, .No one saw him when he gently took my hand into his.

We listened to the beautiful voices it seemed as one.

Then s sleigh drive up driven by a lovely black horse.

Apparently my uncle had ordered it so they insisted Edward and I go for a ride.

We pulled the white fur blanket around us and off we rode into the forest.

It was marvelous ! The snow was falling and the bells on the side was jingling.

The scenery was spectacular. There were trees of all kind with snow covering them and I saw two red birds huddled together in one of the trees. I wondered to myself foretold our life together.

I had almost given up. he said.

Now

that you are here. I do believe in miracles.

You are the one I have been waiting for —

Then before I knew it he kissed me and I melted in his arms

I knew at that moment as a thrill went though my body that he was the only one for me.

That was how we met and we knew instantly that we were made for each other.

I took the job as the Editor of the local newspaper moved back with

my aunt and uncle and he got s job working in research at the university.

We got married the next year on Nee years at the stroke of 12 am in front of a tall lit up pine tree at the Lewis”s Farm with family and friends.

I wore s long velvet hooded cape over my ivory glowing gown while he wore a velvet dark purple suite. Our reception was in the barn all decorated with red and purple roses.

We drove away in a sports car up the mountain to our modern glass walled home overlooking the town on land given to us by his dad from the Lewis Farm.

As we looked out over the treetops on our wedding night and he held me tight I now knew that when the right one for you comes - your heart will let you know and you just have to follow it!

dating
Like

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.