Humans logo

Captain Morgan the True Captain

What My Eyes See

By Michael J. HarrisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Captain Morgan the True Captain
Photo by Francesco Ungaro on Unsplash

Siting here, belly full of Captain Morgan. Sluggish and sick to my stomach as the ship toss in turns. How many days has it been, 80... 90?

A voyage they call it!

I call it a mound of rubbish!

Where are we voyaaging... voyaginng... this drink is potent, you know what I mean.

Why are we out here in the middle of nowhere?

"Buck get your lazy butt up." Captain Muck orders me.

As always I stood up and staggered with my walk. Trying to focus my bottle toward him, I seen double.

"The... Only... (Burp)... Captain I have.... Is this here Captain Morgan."

Whew I need an Oscar for that performance. Normally I do not get that many words out and as fluent.

What can I say I'm a "professional" drinker.

Each moment got worse and worse.

The crewmates soon were like me, down and out.

How much longer, must we take this torture?

Stuck here with these low lives.

When I was going to school in London, this is the career I had in mind.

Now, this Captain Morgan is what I trust in. Not talking about, nor telling me that I’m too lazy and not putting in the work.

This is it boys, the lifetime of a sailer at sea.

Slowly my eyes close and I drift off clutching tightly to my Captain Morgan.

Boom!!

Suddenly the ship was hit. Waking up I stumbled to my feet trying to make sense of the commotion.

What is going on?? I seen the shipmates scrambling for weapons and cover.

As they did all that I looked toward the horizon.

There sitting was a dark ship on the horizon.

We all heard the legends but never seen it up close. Sailing in the forbidden territory of our childhood stories.

Nobody prepared me for this, not even Captain Morgan.

Frozen in placed, Johnny Smit came up and tapped me on my left shoulder and made me jumped. He chuckled a bit as he passed me a rifle.

“You midst well drink the rest of that Cap my boy! You know for a long night!” Johnny said and fired a shot at the dark ship.

Welp I guess this is it! I chugged the rest of the Morgan and got ready.

The Black Dragon fleet was coming toward us from the horizon.

No chance of turning now. The men with our valor, we hold fear in our hearts.

Not knowing if we will go back home to kiss our wives and tuck our kids in. Seeing our daughters off to their future husbands is not a lingering thought. We wait as the gunfire erupts. Stuck in this muck of a war, we wait.

Sober for for first time, the fear is forcing me alive, as I see man drop and my own trigger finger sending others to their demise.

Standing there with my feet glued to the ground, I felt the ship sway and shift. Dodging bullets dancing this recital number, I did not know I had.

Sights my eyes will not forget. I looked up and my eyes might Captain Muck’s. He nodded and smiled as if he was saying good job. The kindness gesture I got from him.

Unfortunately that was the first and last as I saw a bullet enter his temple and him dropping to the ground. I couldn’t save him. I can’t do this!

Everything went black as the battle prolonged.

At the end I was the only one from our side left standing. As they approached to see if anyone was left.

I gently fell into the water with a Captain Morgan in one hand and a black plank in the other. They heard a sound but didn’t know where from as the plank blended in well with the water.

Now I’m heading to this island, to our home that they took from us. So close, yet so far. They kept us from them and now I return to break the news.

Captain Morgan I trust you, and you got me past that Ship on the Horizon.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Michael J. Harris

I'm a young inspiring author and youth leader. I hope that through my YouTube and my writings that I can inspire the youth to both do and be more. Building on a ministry of stepping into the youth lives and allowing them to be themselves.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.