Humans logo

Can You Pour From an Empty Cup?

A small guide of how to take care of yourself during tough times

By Sara CaramellaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Can You Pour From an Empty Cup?
Photo by 五玄土 ORIENTO on Unsplash

Our world is in a state of chaos. It is hard to ignore. Between the Ukraine invasion, Roe V. Wade and all that jazz and these mass shootings in Buffalo and Uvalde. It is a lot to take in and take on. Especially if you are like most people and you are empathetic. I took all of this on and it spiraled me into a deep depression for months. I quit taking care of myself. I had therapy and my therapist gave me some great advice that I wanted to pass on. "You need to take care of yourself so you can be a light in the dark world. Own the truth and move forward." We can recognize and feel what is going on and then we need to take care of ourselves first and foremost.

I am sure we have all heard the saying, "you can't pour from an empty cup" and no matter how much we want to deny that..it is true. You have to do the things that help you feel better so you can help others. You need to be mentally, physically, financially, spiritually sound and healthy to start making any kind of difference.

I know this sounds preachy but it is something I had to learn the hard way. I have always cared so much about other people and been empathetic towards what others are dealing with and going through. But I have never been at full capacity to care about others and myself. Now that I am healing and in a better place, I not only see and feel what is going on, I truly want to help others. My job as a crisis counselor has made me really want to up my own self care so I could be there for others. These big things happening in the world has just made me realize I need it more.

So.. how do you get your glass to be at least half full? That really depends on you and how you recover. The first step is learning that. It is a lot of trial and error. But I will give you what I do and see if any of this can help you.

1. I first give myself the day to feel the tragedy. I cry, I write, I do whatever feels necessary.

2. After I give myself the day, I do lots of self care. For me, this looks like bubble baths, time with my dogs, working out, reading, writing and talking with my friends. So these last few weeks, I have been doing a lot of that. I walk my dogs, I cuddle them and I always listen to something like a book, podcast or music and I take time to take care of me.

3. I make sure I journal daily, as that is something that has helped me. I also make sure I still take my medications and drink my gallon of water. I workout and try my best to stay solid in my own routine.

4. I continue to do self care and routines while also paying attention to what is still going on. I will only look at the news certain points in the day or social media.

5. I figure out how I can help. I sign petitions, donate money, share, etc. Find what you can do, only after you feel capable of handling it.

And then I write about it.. as one does. There's no cure for the trauma our world is going through daily. But we can take care of ourselves and do our best. You can't give your best, if you don't feel your best. Take care of you so you can take care of others.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Sara Caramella

26. Crisis Counselor. Domestic Violence Survivor.

I believe in sharing my story so others know they are never alone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.