Humans logo

Building Our Vocal Friends Up

Become Friends , Offer Advice , Read and Comment

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
20
You Get What You Give

I’ve seen a lot on Vocal of people complaining about lots of things to the point of verbally fighting online, though it seems to have calmed down. Maybe those at odds are avoiding each other or have learned to live with their differences.

Fighting is generally destructive and also takes a lot of resources and usually ends up in destruction. Look at the general concept of war, it costs a fortune and ends up with destruction. Think what could be done if those resources were put into building something (i am talking infrastructure , health , education) but as usual I massively digress.

There are five Vocal Groups I am a member of , they are listed at the end of this article, and there are a lot more. I only have a low limit for joining groups like this just because I will get lost if I am in too many. I am a very disorganized person.

When I started on Vocal I was seduced by the possibility of very impressive challenge prizes but I know that will never happen to someone with my style of writing , I am nowhere near an ideal Vocal member.

However joining these groups has really built up my self worth in writing with compliments , constructive criticism, building friendships , chatting with people who became Facebook friends, offering advice and getting thanked for it. I have got to say this is just a hugely unexpected benefit.

The other day Sarah Loyd posted a piece and named me as a favourite writer. That made me feel totally honoured.

I have received some great advice and help from Lesley Anne despite the fact that she works so hard on the Vocal Social Society but still finds time to help others.

These sort of actions build us up and will make us better at what we do, not just writing on Vocal.

I love Benny Dugg’s lovely poetry and our interaction and conversations.

I know I have just mentioned a few people , but there are many more who have helped me and made me generally better.

We should do this for all our Vocal friends, offer encouragement , constructive criticism and praise, and they usually reciprocate.

I sometimes get a slight twinge of jealousy when I see people getting complimented while I seem to be ignored , but I know that my turn will come, there are a lot of us now, and only so much time , and reading and writing does take time.

Put yourself out there so that people can see you and then interact with you.

Vocal is the platform to put your creation on , these Vocal groups are where you find out what people really think of you , and you will get lots of encouragement.

But it doesn’t come for free. You have to give to get.

There will be people you are maybe complimentary to , who do not respond , and they will drop off your radar and you off theirs.

When you read a piece it is always good to leave a line to say that you have read it and maybe compliment the writer even further with a longer evaluation and even a tip (a dollar is a small amount , but the pleasure and good will it generates is amazing)

So become Facebook friends , interact , and build your friends up by praising them and recommending improvements to their creation. They will do the same for you and together we can share and create together and appreciate our amazing creations.

ᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭ

Music wise we will go with “You Get What You Give” by The New Radicals which fits this piece.

ᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭ

Below are my Vocal Groups, all worth joining, you won’t regret it.

ᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭᾭ

The Vocal Creators Support Group

Vocal Media Creators Hub

Vocal Social Society

Vocal Creators Social Media Support

advice
20

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.1m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ Thrds

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsMariannDharCathyJudey

DawnMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.