Humans logo

Brain Weasels Suck

The brain weasels lie about everything. I am going to put them in their place.

By MJ BlehartPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Photo by Elisa Ventur on Unsplash

This was an excellent weekend for me.

I got to see a close friend receive a well-deserved accolade. As part of that, I got to spend time with other friends – an in-person gathering with people I only get to see a couple of times a year.

People I have not seen in at least 15 months.

The positivity of that experience is immeasurable. I am an ambivert – which, if you are unfamiliar with the term, is an introvert with extrovert tendencies. Thus, I love being with people – specific people in specific situations.

Today, I am feeling a bit down. But I know why. I got to see people I thoroughly enjoy spending time with for the first time in what feels like forever – but in the process neglected my routine for a couple of days.

Getting myself to this place of having this set routine has taken a lot of time and effort. When I first began to work from home independently, writing full-time, I had to build a routine. It became important to set daily tasks so that I stayed on track.

I don’t have a traditional job – but I DO have a job. Yet I am still fighting old demons and outdated beliefs about who I am, what I do, and the impact on others.

Hence, taking a “vacation” for a couple of days feels dishonest. That, of course, is part and parcel of the ongoing struggles I have always had with brain weasels (or squirrels in the brain – same rodent problem). These come from a combination of internal and external sources.

Everyone deals with this

I am going to share what I do to put the brain weasels in their place.

First, an important fact. We all see certain people as being thoroughly together. They appear to have their ducks in a row, confidence, poise, and outward strength. Yet I know that everyone deals with this.

Among the friends I spent the weekend with, a couple told me they see me as one of those people. When I spoke of my struggles with brain weasels, they were surprised.

But I have been dealing with this all my life. Some have been from disbelief in my own worth. But some were borne of absorbing beliefs of others.

While she meant well – my mom instilled in me this idea that to make money, I needed to be a doctor, lawyer, or businessman like my grandfather had been. That was the path to financial success. And what’s more, financial success was the ultimate measure of success.

I entertained these career paths as a kid. It was never a lack of ability to take on any of those career options. But none of them are me. It was the arts that held my attention – and continue to do so.

Writing was my first love. Thus, following my passion and pursuing that is what I have done. While I am getting some sales and building an audience – it’s slow going. The results are not immediate – so the brain weasels begin chittering.

Addressing and refuting the brain weasels

In my experience, the brain weasels tend to be focused on the same notions and ideas. All of them trigger my insecurities, fears, and concerns. Some are based on internal beliefs and values - while others are products of outside information.

Most of the chittering of brain weasels is indistinct. For me at least, the overall message I get from them tends to look like this: You suck! Who the hell do you think you are? You’re not worthy or deserving. You’re an idiot. Nobody believes in you - and other, similar notions.

This is frustrating, to say the least. But when I face them directly – they tend not to stand up to the light of day.

The overall impression above is derived from more specific fears or worries about the validity of beliefs and values. When I look more closely, I see the real concerns:

I am not earning enough money and letting the people I care about down. Holding a non-traditional job, I am not working hard enough. Am I a good enough writer to earn my living this way?

Taking a look at these underlying issues, I can see why the brain weasels impress upon me notions like you suck, who the hell do you think you are, you’re not worthy or deserving - and such.

It’s up to me to address these matters and refute them to silence the chittering of the brain weasels.

Here is what I do to do precisely that.

Practicing mindfulness

This involves being consciously aware, at this moment, of my thoughts, feelings, actions, and intentions. That awareness informs me of my present, actual mindset/headspace/psyche self.

Being mindful and consciously aware of my inner being opens the door to see inside my subconscious. And that is where the concerns live.

Seeing into the subconscious beliefs and values shows me if they match who I consciously think and feel that I am – or not. That also shows me if they are my own – or the product of outside influences.

This allows me to recognize what I am dealing with. But after recognizing this, I still need to acknowledge it.

Acknowledgment

Recognition says, “I see this is mine.” Acknowledgment says, “I confirm this is mine.”

Too many people blame this, that, or the other thing. They blame people, places, circumstances, and anything they can - rather than take responsibility and be accountable.

When I’m in my own head, looking at subconscious values and beliefs - even if they originated from outside of myself – they are still mine now.

When I ignore them, pretend they’re not there, or blame them on someone/something else – they fester. And then they become brain weasels.

Hence why acknowledgment is important.

Brain weasel extermination

By recognizing and acknowledging what’s happening with me – via mindfulness – I am not empowered to choose what to do.

I can thus replace, repair, alter, and otherwise change the beliefs and values where the brain weasels live. This takes conscious effort, time, focus, and energy. But doing so lets me put the little monsters out of my head and allows me to take control.

The brain weasels lie about everything. Practicing mindfulness helps me to see that. The negativity that they spout can be replaced with positivity. And every little bit of positivity we get from within or without empowers us to do amazing things.

I am worthy and deserving of the friends I have. It’s a good thing to take a vacation day from time to time – even from my non-traditional job. The brain weasels telling me their lies are only in control if I let them be.

This is true for me – and you.

Silencing and removing brain weasels isn’t hard

It begins with mindfulness of your thoughts, feelings, actions, and intentions.

Knowing that everyone has brain weasels – and struggles with their self-worth, beliefs, and values at times – we can see how we are not alone and don’t have to needlessly suffer. When you practice mindfulness, recognize, and acknowledge the beliefs and habits where brain weasels spawn, you can take control to exterminate them. And that ultimately empowers you.

When you feel empowered, your mindfulness increases, you become more aware overall, and that gets reflected and spreads to more people. This creates a feedback loop of awareness and positivity. A feedback loop we can all take part in.

Then, we build more positive feelings and discover further reasons to feel positivity and gratitude. That can be the impetus to improve numerous aspects of our lives for the better, help overcome the overwhelming negativity of any current situation, and generate yet more positivity and gratitude.

You, me, and everybody are worthy and deserving of all the good we desire.

An attitude of gratitude is an attitude of pure positivity. That positivity can generate even greater positive energies - and that is always worthwhile.

Facebook | LinkedIn | Twitter | AmazonAuthorPage

Thank you for reading. I am MJ Blehart. I write about mindfulness, conscious reality creation, positivity, and similar life lessons.

Get my Five Easy Steps to Change the World for the Better (FREE!) Here

advice
Like

About the Creator

MJ Blehart

I am a practitioner of mindfulness, positivity, philosophy, & conscious reality creation. I love to inspire, open minds, & entertain. And that's in my spare time. I write sci-fi and fantasy novels. http://www.mjblehart.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.