Humans logo

Brace For it

A boy is in an apocalypse but his only goal is to get his braces off

By Rheanna PhilippPublished 3 years ago 15 min read
Like

I write this sitting on fruit crate outside an abandoned K mart, Brandon, my 13 year old step brother is creating a pile of drool. The spit is slowly sliding out of his mouth to hit a pool that is way too close to my shoes for comfort. This kid has not been able to contain his spit ever since he was a loud crying toddler. I would be passed out on the beaten down mattress beside me, but every time I put my head down my braces stab me in the cheek. If you really want to know about how my awkward teenage life became well, this, then let me go on. It all started with a kiss, or lack there of.

The “Wiki How to kiss a girl for the first time” says I need to “Practice” before. HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO PRACTICE IF I HAVE NO ONE TO DO IT WITH? It’s fine. Step two, “Make sure you have good breath! The girl doesn’t want to taste garlic or other icky flavours after the kiss. This can be a major turn off”. That means I have to brush for a solid 5 minutes before anything. Step three, “Time it right”. What does it mean time it right!? It’s never a good time.

“Justin!!! You are going to be late for school” My mom shouts from the basement. She is busy finding suitcases because she is leaving in a few hours to Arizona for her friend’s wedding. I’m staying at home alone for the weekend with Brandon, probably going to stay in and play Black ops 2 all weekend. I would say we could go play soccer outside but Portland is always wet and rainy and my hair does not work well with rain. One drop and poof, I look like freaking Naruto.

Brandon shouts from the front porch,“Let’s go! I have to meet with my english teacher this morning! Justin! Come on!”

“Okay okay I’m coming!

The walk to school felt as if my mind was in a different entity, like I was one of the men in avatar who lay in their beds and transport into a dream. In my avatar world Amara fidgets with her pencil, bitting the end when she is trying to figure out a difficult problem. Her nose all scrunched up and eyes fluttering at the paper. Long locks of auburn hair drape over her shoulders, smelling of lilacs. In my avatar world she is sitting next to me her legs crossed and posture strong. She notices my gazing towards her and smiles, showing off her little dimples. Amara leans over and strokes my hair. Just as my fantasy was complete with a kiss, Brandon pushed passed me and ran through the school doors.

“Gotta go Justin! see you later?”

“Yeah man, meet in the cafeteria at lunch!” I shouted through the open doors.

The suspicious grey sky loomed over the school hanging lower than usual, eerie whispers of the wind tickled my nose as the clouds cried after their breakup with the sun. “Big mood” I thought to myself, how could this day get any weirder? It’s all felt like a haze.

The ticking of the clocks screamed loud as the hours, minutes, seconds went by. I am a natural fidgeter but today I could not stop myself from shaking my leg. I don't know what has gotten into me.

“Hey Justin” Amara sighed at me, her eyes flickering, the lights focusing only on her the wind blowing back her hair as she pulled it down from her ponytail.

“Um, H-hey Amara” I blink back as I re-grasp reality.

“I have a question for you…” She says with eager eyes. I know those eyes ever since we were babies we have always been close. But the first time I ever saw those eyes was when she came up with the idea for us to sell painted rocks on the side walk. It’s her look of hope and eagerness, wide pupils praying for the hopeful answer. I nod to show that it’s no problem to ask me anything.

“When do you get your braces off?”

“I’m supposed to get them off in a week.”

“Oh really? That’s amazing. You will look so good without them.”

I sigh, I know the only reason why Amara hasn’t wanted to kiss me is because of my braces. She kissed someone last year, grade 10, and her lips were cut really bad. She is scared of them now.

“We should go out for some bubble tea in a week then” Flickering her eyes at me. Now that is a look I have never seen. Was she flirting with me? Amara just flirted with me? I can’t believe it! This is my chance. I can finally have my first kiss!

“Justin?” Shaking off my excitement I choke out a “Sounds good.”

“Alrighty, I’ll see you later then I have to go to class” winking at me as she leaves down the hall. All of a sudden the school goes dark. Thunder roars and rumbles. Lighting cracks. The hallway’s chatter in interrupted by a voice sounding over the what I thought was the PA. The voice was dark and mutated with a nefarious undertone.

“School is closed, everyone out. It is now your time to experience what the world will be in the future.” It cackled out.

Then the fire came. The sky was clear and heat beaming down but lightning still crashing from god knows where. What in the freaking hell was going on! I found Brandon, grabbed him by the wrist and ran. Ran until we didn’t know the feeling of our legs before running. Feet thumping on the concrete. We were not the only ones. Screams and cries echo through the city as fire torched the neighbourhoods. With only the flames lighting our way we decided to stop. It was dark now.

“Stop! Stop!” I cried to Brandon. He screeched to a halt. The only thing I was thinking about now was finding an orthodontist to take my damn braces off. I was not going to die in an apocalypse at 16 without kissing the girl I like. Imagine never having your first kiss. Yeah, I know it sucks. Looking around all we could find was an abandoned Kmart.

“I’m hungry Justin!” Brandon cried.

“Let’s go then”

The doors of the store creaked open, they were not locked because I assume people did the exact same thing as us, ran. Brandon ran to the deli section and proceeded to grab pepperoni sticks.

“Brandon! Mom doesn't let us have those!” I shouted with a chuckle

“Do I LOOK like I care even an ounce what mom thinks right now?! Let me eat my processed meat sticks in peace.”

“I’ll meet you by the bread in 10 mins okay?” All Brandon could do was nod with his mouth full of pepperoni. I set off. Okay, with no GPS, no power, how am I supposed to find an orthodontist? I grabbed a map and a yellow pages, this seemed like it was going to work. Flashlight, check. Batteries, check. Highlighter, check. Notebook, check. Ramen noodles, check. Okay I was set. Let’s get to this bread!

We found a nice spot outside of the Kmart, a fruit crate and a beaten down mattress. Brandon passed out with a hand full of pepperoni sticks laying around him. I started looking for orthodontists and marked them on the map with the highlighter. I did this for hours until I started talking to you. I would be passed out on the beaten down mattress beside me, but every time I put my head down my braces stab me in the cheek. I woke up with a start! Brandon shoving a pepperoni stick in my mouth.

“Dude! What the heck!” I shouted wincing in pain as my cheeks brushed across the metal brackets and wires lining my mouth. I looked at my map and the street names around me. Left my yellow pages on the mattress behind me and started off. The closest orthodontist is 8 miles away.

“Where are we going man?” Brandon says muffled as he shoves another pepperoni stick in his mouth.

“You’re going to get sick Brandon! Stop eating them!”

“Never!” He screams as he runs to the next stop sign. Stumbling to a stop I watch him hunch over and vomit all over the ground surrounding him.

“Told you!” I shout to the defeated small body of my 13 year old step brother.

We walked for what felt like hours. Surrounded by buildings burning down and families out on the streets gathered around mattresses and canned food. I ripped open my ramen package, put the seasoning on the crunchy noodles and took a bite. I forgot how difficult it was to eat crunchy food with braces. Every bite was a scratching feeling on my cheeks as the raw noodles and mental brackets corroded against each other. Grabbing Brandon by the wrist I pulled him to a stop. Heaven and hope was upon me; a sign that read Dr. Malum, Orthodontist Clinic shone bright into my soul. The doors creaked open as I pulled them to the side. Chills ran through my body as a blast of air conditioning slammed my side. Air conditioning? There was no power for miles. Not even the lamp posts were on. Brandon followed close behind me, clutching his pepperoni close to his heart. Hesitantly, I press the button reading “UP” for the elevator. To my surprise it lights up. The doors slide open with mischief in their eyes, as the robotic woman on the speaker says “going up”. Brandon and I lock eyes, staring at each other with disbelief. The elevator swooshes to a stop, doors gliding open to reveal a white light shinning from down the hall. As we reach the door I hear a dark, malevolent voice echo through the corridor.

“Justin, I’ve been expecting you.” Brandon looks at me with fear. I simply shrug it off and go through the door leaving Brandon out in the hall. I was not going to let anything stop me from getting these braces off, no matter how weird the situation was.

“Dr. Malum?” I croak.

“Yes, my boy. So good of you to come.” he hisses with a deceiving glare. “I knew you would.” I breathe in harshly catching my breath. My words were caught in my throat.

“I’ve been watching you, my boy. I’ve been watching everyone.” Plaques and medals scatter across the wall reading: Masters of BioChemistry, Bachelors of Biotechnology, Doctorate of Orthodontics. At least he's well trained, I thought to myself.

“You’ve come to the right place, my boy. I am here to offer you a deal.” I nod as my confidence falters.

“You are a smart boy, focused on your school work. You would go far in the world. But, your mind is crowded with hideous thoughts of love and affection.” He strolls around his work table to his computer. His stature poised and long. Shoes gliding along the marbled floor as if he were Slender Man on his way to catch his pray.

“You see there are a lot of people out there like you who have potential. But, that potential is thrown away for what you youth call, love. You are intoxicated by it, paralyzed. You forget what is really important. And what is that you may ask? Well, scientific discovery, innovation. I can be your teacher. You can work with me.” I simply just blink back at him.

“You are probably wondering what is going on out in the world. Well, that is my solution to the problem. All of the intellectual people will come to me as their guiding light because I have hidden a clue as to who I am and where to find me. For you it was the braces. I knew you would come because who would want to live with those for the rest of their lives. So here is my deal: as the creator of this apocalypse, I started it to separate the intellectuals from the idle. It is my duty as a scientist to make the world sustainable and smart; leaving the potential geniuses of the world to live while the others vanish. You as a ‘potential’ have the choice to stay and get your braces off or go out into the world and try to survive, where you will be marked as an idle and not protected. You have a choice.”

“Is Amara a ‘potential’?” I ask with a whisper.

“Ah, you see my boy, she would be but in this case she is your weakness which means that she is now marked as an ‘idle’. There is no room for love and distractions in a world meant for science.” he says with a maniacal tone. “But, I will however, give you 24 hours to find her and get the kiss you have always been wanting in order for that distraction to be out of the way.”

What is the freaking hell was this man on?! He’s crazy! But, if I don't agree with him I will still have my braces on and there would be no hope in me finding Amara anyway. I need to get them off. In this moment the memory of fires and families out on the street flood my brain. The screams that were simply whispers to me once before burn my ears and scrap across my brain leaving my skull an empty shell. I’ve made my decision. Filling up my lungs with oxygen I take a step towards Dr. Malum.

“You see doctor Malum, there is one thing that you missed.”

“Ah my boy, and what might that be?” he growled

“A life without love is a life not worth living. You see, you can be focused on your work and bury yourself in studies but one thing remains, the void in your heart where someone should be. Dr. Malum, you only thought that I cared about science didn’t you? You missed that my real passion was writing. Every good story has some aspect of love. What you are doing here is destroying the one aspect of life that people look for to keep living. Which is why, Dr Malum, I cannot accept your offer even though it would mean that I would be ridden from the metal chains across my mouth.”

“You are going to regret this.” Dr Malum mumbles out with a groan. I quickly jump to the side, swinging my feet over the exam table. Grab the light that hangs from the ceiling and smash it over Dr. Malum’s head. His body starts to convulse as the electricity flows through his body forcing him to crumble to the ground. Carefully stepping over the long, limp corpse, I make my way over to the computer. The program running the apocalypse simply needs to be overrode with a code to a question. “What is the main distraction in life?” I quickly type “Love” scowling at the letters. A large red button then emerges from the large wooden desk, “SHUT DOWN” it reads with large white letters. Flipping open the plastic cover to the button, I slam my hand down. The lights all around me start to flicker and fizz as the computer flashes red and green. The iridescent gleam of the home screen lights up, it reads: Dr, Malum Orthodontics. I hear a creak coming from the adjacent door. A women dressed in scrubs enters. Her hair pulled up to reveal her heart shaped face. Her hands fiddling with something in her pocket. I turn to face her, backing away slowly.

“Don’t worry, I’m not with him. I work here, as a technician. I can take those braces off for you” She smiles at me with a warm smile that I only remember seeing on my grandmother’s face as she smelt a fresh batch of roses, picked from her garden. “You must have come a long way. I would hate for you to leave without getting those darn things off.” She looks at me with hopeful eyes. “It’s the least I can do after what you did.” Eyeing her up and down I figure, ah what the heck. I lay down on the exam table as she takes tools out from the sanitary wrap and begins snapping brackets off of my teeth. A machine whirs to a start as the spinning file glides across my teeth. Holding up a mirror she asks “What do you think? You look like a man now.” I simply nod back at her as I run my tongue across my teeth without fear of cuts. I shake her hand and head out the door stepping in a puddle of drool on the other side.

“Brandon! Seriously! You fell asleep?” I shout. He rolls his head up and stares at me with sleepy eyes.

“Pepperoni stick?” He asks with a crooked smile.

“No man, let’s go home.”

“Okay, whatever you say.”

A week has passed and it was my big day. The school has been closed for repair and my name is floating across news networks calling me the ‘Teen who saved us all!’. Cool, I guess I’m a hero right?

“Justin you are going to be late!” Shoot, I slept in. “Amara will be here any second to pick you up for your daaaattte” my mom sings from the kitchen. I quickly get dressed, throwing on a pair of khakis and a button down. Maybe a sweater, probably a sweater? What if she gets cold? Okay a sweater. I rush to the bathroom, brush my new pearly white teeth, gargle with mouth wash. Step two check! Wiki How, I don’t need you anymore. I hear the door bell ring.

“I GOT IT!” I shout as my feet fumble down the stairs.

“Well, hello Mr. Hero” she winks at me as I slide out of the door shutting it quickly behind me.

“Oh, shut up” I smile back at her, reaching my hand for the back of her neck, the other placed on her waist. To my surprise she jumps to her tippy toes and pulls me in by the cheeks. Her lips touch mine in a wave of ecstasy and bliss. I was kissing Amara! Be cool. Be cool. She slowly pulls away batting her eyes at me.

“I was right, you do look even more handsome without braces.” Grabbing her hand in mine, we walk along the sidewalk to the bubble tea shop near by.

“So, tell me your story. How did you become Mr. Hero?” she blinked at me with those eager hopeful eyes.

“Well, it all started with a kiss, or lack there of.”

satire
Like

About the Creator

Rheanna Philipp

Just a girl who finds writing as an escape

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.