Humans logo

Booze

Why I don't drink.

By Caleb WaddellPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I’ve lost track of all the times someone has asked me why I don’t drink.

Not many find themselves jimmying open a window just to sneak into a fraternity ABC kegger without some form of liquid courage. Despite that, four of my ruffian friends and I squeezed through and joined the party. Not long after I found myself flirting with a first year wearing a two-piece made of sour candies. This was all topped off with a hasty escape once one of those friends decided to steal the keg and walk through the front door with it. Chaos ensued.

So why wouldn’t I just drink?

My father taught me to fetch beer for him as soon as I could walk. I’d waddle him his bottle, he’d pop the top and let me have the first tiny sip. I still have a photo of me as a baby, hands wrapped around the neck of a Molson, chewing at its lip. Alcohol was always around in my childhood, never anything significant in my eyes. So, when I reached high school and all my friends started to drink, and by drink I mean they adopted the motto “black out or back out,” I just didn’t.

Most of the time, when they ask, I give some sort of flippant answer about how it’s ‘just not my thing’ which raises more eyebrows. I get it. With lots of friends, an affinity for motorcycles and women well out of my league, I come across as a someone that might pride himself on the speed with which he can shotgun a PBR. I don’t present as the sober type. It has its upsides and its downs, but the real reason I don’t is because of what sobriety rewards me: the memories.

Telling stories, that’s my greatest passion. Even as a child my eyes would light up as I bumbled my way through telling any and everyone who would listen to my silly tales. As I started high school, and my friends began blitzkrieging their livers with their parents’ missing liquor, I learned that those nights out, at parties, bars, clubs, whatever, were an endless source for the stories I loved to tell so much. The only problem was that if you took part, more often than not, those stories wouldn’t be there come morning, so I joined in, but started my streak.

I’m a social butterfly, a glutton for punishment. It could be that I’m an utter lunatic, but I love being sober among a room full of drunks, among the inebriated, unaware that they shouldn’t act on impulse or their baser instincts. Not that I can judge. I’m probably worse since I’m right there with them, without the hooch to blame my actions on. I can still hear my best friend’s mother’s voice when she caught me skinny dipping with a girl in her pool “Caleb, you’re supposed to be the good one.” She was right, I should have, but nobody wants to hear that story.

What does it say about me that I tend to party just as much as everyone else, sober as a bird? (Which is an expression that I never agreed with. If ever there was an animal that acted like belligerent frat boys, it’s geese.) Even sober, I managed to amass a collection of adventures that seemed straight out of a National Lampoon’s film, and retelling them has always been the best part.

Getting tossed out of a basement bar in Chinatown because I got the entire bar wasted, on five dollar pitchers, through a mass game of ‘never have I ever.’ Having a drunk girl pull my emergency brake on the highway. Lebron James flipping me the bird over Snapchat; these stories, for whatever reason, pile up around me and I never feel more like myself than when I’m telling them to someone for the first time.

I suppose that’s both my passion and my reason for not drinking; the nights out, the precious time spent with friends, and all of the memories that come with them. I’ll just have a water but grab a seat and maybe a beer and let me tell you a story.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Caleb Waddell

Twenty-eight year old, moderately housebroken fiction writer from Utopia, Ontario. (I know, we aren't known for our modesty) I hope you enjoy my stories of hoodlumism and shenanigans.

Thanks for reading.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.