Humans logo

Benefits of Divorce - Nedu Speaks Out

Nedu talks divorce

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian media personality Nedu is speaking about divorce, and why he thinks it's a good idea for many when the marriage is no longer working. Nedu who has been divorced himself talks about claims that say marriage is one's cross to carry amidst other things and explains why he advocates for divorce. Here's what Nedu said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day.

Nedu during interview

Speaking about divorce, Nedu said:

NEDU: My take on divorce is if it ain't working, take a walk. See, I'm all for peace of mind, you get me? Whatever is not giving me peace, I don't want it. At all. I can't come and kill myself. Some people tell you "oh it's your cross, carry it". No, na only Jesus dey carry cross, that ain't for me. If you don't give me peace of heart, what am I doing with you? Nothing. Absolutely nothing. I'm out. I protect my sanity which is the most important part of what I am, and it's not like I'm telling people to divorce, but ask yourself the question: if you're going home everyday, for those that have kids, if you're going home everyday because of the kids and not the person you're married to, that tells you a lot. If you see the person you're married to and you're not happy, the person does not give you joy, what are you doing? So if it's not working, get out.

No be the one wey pastor go tell you "God hates divorce", ta! Does God like me to die? No. God doesn't want me to die either. His plans for me are of good and not of evil, init? To have an expected end. If my expected end is for me to have peace of heart and this person is not giving me peace of heart, then what am I doing with you? I'm going to take a walk.

Basically what I'm trying to say is just do what makes you happy. Before you do what makes you happy, think about the other person. Do what makes that person happy as well, and what makes you happy. If you have love in your heart, you're not going to make another person sad as you're making yourself sad. Think about you, think about the other person as well. If both of you are happy and you're at peace with God, that's all that matters.

Nedu's wedding, before divorce

Thanks for diving into this story with me! Btw, every time you read, support, and share my work, it fuels my hunger to keep bringing you the latest news on your favorite Nigerian celebrities, movies, music and more. Your thoughts also matter to me, so please share them in the comments below, or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post. Let's keep the conversation going and I can't wait to see your thoughts on this.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.