Humans logo

Before the Vows

Fuck your closure and your friend request

By Alisha JonesPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
Before the Vows
Photo by George Pagan III on Unsplash

The days leading up to a wedding are typically super stressful. Everything must be perfect, and all last-minute alterations are due ASAP. Nevertheless, this particular evening took a soft family approach to the occasion. A bridal shower with good people, food, and music is just what the doctor ordered to slow down and enjoy this pivotal event in life.

"Sasha!" My two best friends screamed from a distance. The trio dropped their bags and gifts to run to me for a group hug.

"I can't believe you're finally getting married!" Said Nicole, her oldest childhood friend.

"Why you gotta say finally like that?" Queen laughed.

"Oh, that is the first jab of many girl, be ready for that all week just because she ran off and married her boo after dating six months. Just made it easy for both of yall to have special titles in my wedding, hell. Now let's get inside before momma come looking for me." The ladies laughed and walked inside the dining hall to join the party.

“Oh, girls!” Momma exclaimed as the group approached the other ladies in the room. “Everybody is here! We can get started, go ahead baby, tell everyone about this fabulous wedding your father and I don’t have to pay for!” Everyone gasped as if mother hadn’t already told the whole family the lavish wedding we’ve been planning all year was a gift.

“What bank did you rob?” asked my aunt. Everyone pretended it was their first time hearing that one and giggled.

“Okay guys gather around, let’s tell this story once, because I’m not explaining again how we’re able to afford some of the balling shit yall about to see at my wedding next week. Did yall hear me? My weeding is next week!” The room erupts in high pitched screams.

"William and I won a contest called “Say I Do Augusta.” Couples all over the city and surrounding areas answered questions about how long they have been together, what’s the hold up on the wedding, and if Covid-19 has affected their relationship. To be eligible, one person in the couple must be an essential worker. The combination of William being in management at a satellite company, and my brilliant way with words won us this beautiful dining hall for my shower, and my entire wedding! Over $20,000 in wedding planning and travel. That’s right, honeymoon too! Just as I said in my answers, we deserve this, ten years is long enough. I am…”

“Ya damn right it is.” Nicole interrupted with her hand cupping her mouth. The room shook with laughter.

“As I was saying, this is the main event you’ve all been waiting for, thank you for coming!”

“You didn’t tell me the total prize was $20,000.” Said Nicole.

“You wouldn’t take a break between the it’s about time jokes.” I replied. “Honestly, I knew it would happen this way. I mean, I figured I would have ten platinum records by now to pay for it all instead of this contest, but the only reason we aren’t married yet is because I want fireworks. They are set to go off right after the kiss.” I grinned.

“Sasha, you got fireworks for real?” Queen asked.

“I said what I said.” I giggled as I sat and crossed my legs.

“Go girl!” My sassy cousin chimed in. Cuz is the only one on my father’s side of the family that understood William and me. It is nice to have people to share this with. Brunch was served and the gossip and games began.

“So, spill it Sasha. How did you win? What part of your answer do you think sealed the deal?” Nicole said after an impressive gulp of wine. “How did we get chosen to ride alongside Cinderella for a night?”

“You got chosen because I’m fly, and yall my ride or dies, but if you must know, I’m just dope with the pen.” I snapped. “I told our enchanted love story with such poetic justice that the producer just had to bring it to life. Our love begins with an awkward connection to the city that we will forever call home.” I sighed.

“By awkward connection you mean dating his best friend?” Nicole asked.

I watched as my aunts, William’s mother, and grandmother turned red. All of them suddenly interested in more salad dressing.

“See, that’s the wine, but you’re damn right I added a little flair. Just the right amount of class and drama to win the wedding of our dreams right here in Augusta, GA. Told them William put the city on his back years ago and when I saw it one crazy college night it felt like fate. What started out as a ride home from Atlanta, turned into a love we can’t live without.”

“So, it was the tattoo that did it for you years ago Sasha?” My oldest aunt asked. Everyone laughed as the servers cleared the table for dessert.

“Ha, ha, ha, let’s move on now. I hope everybody that got jokes got gifts since this is a Comedy Central roast session. Ma, we’re gonna step outside so Queen can get her cancer fix.”

“You’re so silly, just go. Hurry up so we can open your gifts before everyone leaves.” Momma replied

The aunts and other women over 60 went to make tea for the gift opening. My girls and I used this as a chance to sneak away for a quick bowl.

“Don’t use me as your cover!” Queen screamed as she hit my arm.

“What, Momma knows what I’m doing, it’s my aunts that need a quick dab to loosen up.” I laughed while we made our way to the courtyard. Taking in the fresh air, looking over this beautiful ranch we’re getting married at, it was all happening so fast, too late, yet right on time.

“All right, last week before you change your last name. Anything you gotta get off your chest?” Nicole coughed, passing the bowl to my cousin.

“Nah, Sasha is better than that. She’s been waiting for this for too long to still have any objections. Aint that right cousin?” Cuz chimed in.

“Anything like what?” I asked.

“You know, a strip club tour, an ex you need to see one time, go to a swinger’s club….that kind of thing.” Nicole replied. “Don’t sit here like you never found William's little black book, looking crazy.”

Everyone laughs. Looking over to keep an eye on the golden girl crew, I take a good pull of my veggie wine before we go inside. “We’ve been together over ten years, what ex could I possibly have to see? I don't know about a black book, but I do have some tea.” I grin as we head back to the dining hall.

“Oh, I like tea. What kind?” Said Nicole.

“The petty kind!” I screamed as we giggled like teenagers.

“Sasha, you know better.” Said Queen.

“Aht, out with it! Bout time this party got exciting!” Nicole teased.

By Filip Mroz on Unsplash

“Okay yall, coming home for this lavish wedding has been a dream come true. We get to have it all. Completely out of order, but we have the dream house, the kids, and now a bond until death do we part. If I would’ve known when I met him that it would end like this, I swear I would do it all over again. To feel at peace and happy with this man is heaven on earth. But when we come to Augusta there is this gnat that seems to pop up to see if we still look good together or something. This gnat never bothered me, but when I saw she sent him a friend request after the contest was announced, I stooped really low.” I said to my girls, awaiting their judgement.

“How low?” Asked Queen.

“Yall, I messaged her a haiku to make her blood boil. Told her to find a friend in her kids and her husband! This was at midnight, so I expected a shit show this morning and she did not disappoint! But then she blocked me.” I laughed. “I went straight to William’s computer and read her for filth, blocked her, and waited for her to unblock me to keep the shit going. Again, she showed why she can’t be friends with the ex she let slip away. She proceeded to tell me all the drama William and her kept the first three years of our relationship as if I didn’t know.”

“I wanted the smoke though. I needed the only chick in the city who thought they could look at my marriage and say anything about me and William to get it off her chest now. I’m just pissed the next message said she had death in the family and to leave her alone, she’s upset.”

“Sasha!” Queen gasped.

“I know. I know. I could care less about her feelings though. She started calling when everyone showed up. I should’ve answered and won the shouting match, but that was too easy. I’m supposed to listen to her curse me out? No. But she had to keep going though the timeline of events because her man beside her trying to see if she is stalking my man or if I’m the insecure one. I told her sorry about her loss and left it alone. But yall, I still want to be petty. William is ten years older than me. I get that they needed closure to move on, but she had the nerve to disrupt my first Mother’s Day with her closure. I just wanted to let her know now I’m the one that’s thirty, looking for closure, and the only reassurance I needed was to let her know it was no mistake that her request was deleted. Exes can be friends, but she lacked boundaries. She needed to hear it from me that she will never be Sasha, and I know it wasn’t until after my baby was born that she stopped bugging us. It was petty, but it’s done.” I finished.

“Well damn, that’s funny, just call me if we need to pull up before Saturday.” Said Nicole.

“See, that’s why yall my ride or dies. I love yall. Let’s paint the town tonight.” I said with a smile.

“Hell yea, fuck her closure, and her friend request too!” Cuz yelled.

"I'm glad I let that out. I don't like to tell people when I step out of character, but that's what my girls are for." We hurried inside and kicked off the prettiest wedding Augusta, GA ever saw.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Alisha Jones

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.