Humans logo

Bead by Bead

The Emergence of Ver'Evie

By Regina GreathousePublished 3 years ago 3 min read

Jewelry, every color, every metal, was on my dresser. I would literally purchase jewelry from everywhere, Paparazzi, Avon, you name it. Hello, my name is Regina and I was addicted to jewelry. Well, sort of still am, just a little. So, it didn’t help that I learned to make my own. My jewelry-making started out as a hobby during a depression phase in my life. It was a mechanism of focusing on something that I could actually control. It was my means of meditating and winding down, not worrying about my troubles, as I was meticulous with the placing of each and every bead. But somehow it became a passion, because I would come up with a design just by looking at beads in the store. Like, those beads and accents can go with that, and vice versa. I would literally spend hours in the bead aisle at Hobby Lobby or Joann’s trying to pair up beads. The crazy thing was I just wanted to make it, not wear it. I find serenity and am in a place of focus when I grab the beading thread, take my scissors, and cut it preparing to bring the design in my head to fruition. I am in a state of Zen, as I turn off the phone, the TV, focusing on the creation at hand. No distractions for me, I am in the process of creating something unique that popped up in my head. Added happiness came when these creations became gifts for others, who were amazed and deeply appreciative. But I never imagined that the fruits of my hobby could turn into something much bigger. My designs were one of a kind, and those who were recipients of my jewelry knew they were getting an original design hand-made with concentration and love. That is when Ver’Evie Jewelry emerged as an idea. A multitude of hand-designed jewelry sets were created through my passion, not being worn, but just created. Why not start a business from my passion? Why not give all women a chance to own a one-of-a-kind design? This hobby grew out of something dark but allowed me to create beautiful things. This hobby was started by just watching a YouTube video. There was a bout of nervousness in pursuing this venture, but when you are given a gift, you must use it. Figuring out what to name my business was a process, going to my dad for suggestions. Then he suggested naming it after my mom. But there were two amazing women who made a great impact in my life. These women in their own way were one-of-a-kind. Ver’Evie Jewelry was named using part of my mother and grandmother’s first names. They were a big part of who I am today and wanted to honor them in some way. I can’t sew like my grandmother; she would always let me try my hand at it. I cannot bake cakes like my mother could, but I was always there next to her trying to learn. Their talents and gifts touched others, made them smile. Those are the memories that sparked Ver’Evie Jewelry. Beautiful, unique creations designed and put together by hand. Although, Ver’Evie Jewelry is just starting out and is small, my designs are my passion. Sometimes I look at what I made and redo them, so they are perfect. I am in amazement sometimes that I actually made some of those designs, no plan, no sketchbook, just my imagination. Being given a gift to make something is not always about profit, but something that could possibly brighten someone’s day, make them feel beautiful.

art

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    RGWritten by Regina Greathouse

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.